hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : JaguarPC is spamming on my company forums
Reply

Web Hosting Discussions on all aspects of web hosting including past experiences (both negative and positive), choosing a host, questions and answers, and other related subjects. If your service is unavailable, please click here.
Forum Jump

JaguarPC is spamming on my company forums

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2007, 11:17 AM
timdorr timdorr is offline
Formerly orange-y
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 632
Thumbs down

JaguarPC is spamming on my company forums


http://forums.asmallorange.com/index...ndpost&p=69780

Note the signature on that post. In addition, the email address for that account is justinejag@gmail.com.

Not cool at all. We have a cage no more than 20 feet away from them at AtlantaNAP. Why don't they just come over with a hammer? I'm not pissed so much as I'm saddened. Frankly, this is kind of childish.

Have we, as an industry, gotten to the point where we need to resort to dirty tricks to one up each other? I would like to think that most of the hosts out there are still focused on the customer as much as making money. I've always hated the sales question "What makes you better than Host X?" because I don't like talking down on others in my industry. But this is one case where it is just unacceptable to stay quiet.

Has anyone else seen this kind of thing happening with JaguarPC or other hosts?

__________________
Former owner of A Small Orange
New owner of <COMING SOON>

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-26-2007, 11:20 AM
viratshah viratshah is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Have you checked with JagPC on this?
it might be someone claiming to be associated with Jagpc...but is actually not...
might be some gay imp trying to spoil their reputation

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2007, 11:20 AM
sgarbus sgarbus is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,626
There's no signature on that post?

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 10-26-2007, 11:21 AM
timdorr timdorr is offline
Formerly orange-y
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 632
Ah yes, you need to be logged in to see them. Just a sec...

Edit: Better now?

__________________
Former owner of A Small Orange
New owner of <COMING SOON>

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2007, 11:31 AM
sgarbus sgarbus is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by timdorr View Post
Ah yes, you need to be logged in to see them. Just a sec...

Edit: Better now?
Yes, that's better. I would definitely recommend confronting JaguarPC about this, perhaps it isn't coming from them (and if it is, they [the management] may not be aware). I went on their forums and searched for users JPC-Justine and JPC-Justin, neither of which posted any results.

The Gmail account (especially one with 'jag' in it) definitely brings up some doubts if it really is someone with them or not. If you're going to create such a signature, you might as well use the company email address as well.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2007, 11:34 AM
iHubNet-Matt iHubNet-Matt is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by viratshah View Post
Have you checked with JagPC on this?
it might be someone claiming to be associated with Jagpc...but is actually not...
might be some gay imp trying to spoil their reputation
Thats a valid point. You can try contacting them. I won't think they will do something like this.

__________________
iHubNet Ltd - Premium Hosting Solutions 4 ALL
Solid Support Solid Equipment Solid Network
Shared Hosting / Reseller Hosting / Managed Server
Matt A.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2007, 11:35 AM
timdorr timdorr is offline
Formerly orange-y
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 632
I would think just the opposite. They wouldn't want to be associated with JaguarPC in any way. Especially considering the black hat nature of this kind of SEO.

__________________
Former owner of A Small Orange
New owner of <COMING SOON>

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-26-2007, 11:39 AM
JordanJ JordanJ is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 803
Sometimes SEO companies pay people to put the links in their signatures.

__________________
Jordan Jacobs | Vice President | Colocation and Mass-Market| JordanJ @PhoenixNAP.com
PhoenixNAP | Enterprise Colocation | Dedicated Servers | Cloud Services


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-26-2007, 11:43 AM
PogiWeb PogiWeb is offline
We need coffee...
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 3,906
I would think if it was someone from Jaguarpc they would use a company email address.

__________________
PogiWeb LLC | sales@pogiweb.com | 1-704-464-8238
PogiWeb.com - The best VPS prices around with Instant Setups and Reseller Program!
Simply the best Shared, Reseller, Virtual Private Server and Dedicated Server Hosting Provider around!
Join us on Facebook!


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-26-2007, 11:46 AM
David David is offline
& Goliath
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 8,805
Interesting to say the least Tim, I'd say it's time to get some road apples & set them afire in their cage! Yeehaw!

Oh, well maybe not. I suppose professionalism is key. Just delete the member & move on, it's very low but just turn the other cheek: Those without ethics get everything they deserve in time.

__________________
David McKendrick
Fused - Quality web hosting
Follow me on twitter
Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked.

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-26-2007, 11:53 AM
timdorr timdorr is offline
Formerly orange-y
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 632
Well, regardless of them having this person be internal or not (and it appears to be internal based on the JPC-Justine account on their company forums), it was ultimately something they paid for. So, they caused this to happen directly and should be accountable.

__________________
Former owner of A Small Orange
New owner of <COMING SOON>

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-26-2007, 12:00 PM
utropicmedia-karl utropicmedia-karl is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gnax|Jordan View Post
Sometimes SEO companies pay people to put the links in their signatures.
Or post false recs, like on this board....

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-26-2007, 04:03 PM
ldcdc ldcdc is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: EU - east side
Posts: 21,920
Spamming... a bit harsh and possibly inaccurate. How many posts did they have? Did they broke a forum rule? Are they doing this on other hosts' forums?

Sure, it's not a nice gesture that, whomever it was, chose to display that signature, but it's not like their post was something like "come on over we'll give you better hosting, you get this special deal etc". We've seen that happening in the past (with other hosts being involved).

True, a company is ultimately responsible for its employees' actions (even when it's a new employee that didn't know any better), but I feel this is an issue that would have been easily solved between providers that know each other. Do you really think that this was an official JPC move, done with management approval?


Last edited by ldcdc; 10-26-2007 at 04:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-26-2007, 04:21 PM
JordanJ JordanJ is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by utropicmedia-karl View Post
Or post false recs, like on this board....
I hope you were not in ANY way implying that GNAX would pay a customer to post a recommendation...

__________________
Jordan Jacobs | Vice President | Colocation and Mass-Market| JordanJ @PhoenixNAP.com
PhoenixNAP | Enterprise Colocation | Dedicated Servers | Cloud Services


Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-26-2007, 04:29 PM
MrRadic MrRadic is offline
.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: East Coast // NYC
Posts: 1,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by ldcdc View Post
Spamming... a bit harsh and possibly inaccurate. How many posts did they have? Did they broke a forum rule? Are they doing this on other hosts' forums?
Agreed. Although it's very unethical, I wouldn't consider it spamming. Just delete the post, ban the user and be done with it. I don't see any reason why it should be turned into another drama post on WHT.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Web Host JaguarPC Upgrades Network Infrastructure to Meet Customer Demand Web Hosting News 2012-03-06 16:32:14
Web Host JaguarPC Offers CloudLinux Shared and Reseller Hosting Web Hosting News 2011-12-28 16:03:20
Web Host JaguarPC Adds Auto-Installer Softaculous to Hosting Plans Web Hosting News 2011-07-27 18:55:46
Web Host JaguarPC Launches New Website, Blog Web Hosting News 2011-06-27 18:57:12
Web Host JaguarPC Adds New VPS Plans, Upgrades Existing Customers Web Hosting News 2011-06-09 16:49:11


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?