Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: schedual FTP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    lebanon
    Posts
    273

    schedual FTP

    My Friends,
    Have anyone experience for an existing FTP software, where i can schedual tasks. I will explain
    As we know we can schedual our Norton to do scan in a specific time, .......
    What i am looking for is to schedual FTP program to login into an an account and upload a specific file or some files. Hope you understand what i want,
    Any one can help??
    rami

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,120
    I guess you should use perl and LWP cpan bundle. This will require a coding knowledge... are you on unix/linux?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    The Big Easy -New Orleans
    Posts
    341
    Most FTP 'nix FTP clients allow the -n command for no autologin.
    Combine that with a scrpt file and you can script simple FTPs and use a simple shell script to kick it off

    for example...
    inside the shell script say myftp.sh:
    ftp -n <ftpcommandfile

    inside of ftpcommandfile:
    user (username) (password)
    cd /some/dir/where/the/file/lives
    get (thierfilename)
    close
    quit

    Then use cron to schedule the running of the shell script. You'll want to lock down who can read the ftpcommandfile as it'll have the username and password in it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    lebanon
    Posts
    273
    i can use both unix and windows, and i do not have experience in perl
    rami

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Depok, Indonesia
    Posts
    988
    Under UNIX you can use ncftpput:

    Code:
    ncftpput -u username -p password server remote-dir files ...
    Stick that in your crontab.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Prince Edward Island
    Posts
    965
    you can try AutoFTPProAutoFTPPro

    or

    WS_FTPPro

    These may be what you are looking for in terms of windows clients.
    [url]I got nothing/url]

    For clarity's sake, don't use "<ip address of hostname>" use the ACTUAL 32-bit numeric IP address of the machine.

  7. #7
    wudnt it be better if u just put the task in Windows task scheduler ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    236
    That's exactly what WS_FTPPro does: you configure all the settings through WS_FTP, and then it adds it to the Windows Scheduler
    Hmm, what does this do... Oops!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •