Can a newbie begin with dedicated hosting, not reselling?

Sorry for the cryptic title, but I wasn't sure exactly what to write. Also, I'm fairly sure that I may get people chuckling at the following question(s), but we'll see!

Do you think it's possible for someone coming into the hosting business to start with a dedicated server, rather than a resold server? Obviously this person (i.e. me!) already knows how to administer a Linux to some extent, although I'm not an expert by any means.

Has anyone done this and been successful?

What are the pitfalls to be wary of?

I won't explain my reasons for asking this; it's more out of curiosity than anything.

Last edited by stodge; 07-30-2002 at 05:58 PM. - Pixellent Interactive

Los Angeles
    Maybe you should learn how to drive before selling cars, if you catch my drift.

Troy, Missouri USA

* Yes it can be done!

Yes a lot of people start with a dedicated server, but most start as a reseller. Unless you have a very large budget I would recommend a reseller account. If you get a server get a managed server not one of these $99 specials. They are not the best for a beginner.

Dibz: I see your point, and it is a good point, but I was primarily thinking from the following angle.

I was just wondering whether reselling was worth my while. It would be a full time job, and I don't want to work this job on the potentially small profits that might occur from reslling.

Now if I take the risk and create my business plan around dedicated selling, with the right plan and technical skills, the results (both financial and personal) would be far more rewarding.

But is this feasible? I mean is it such a vast jump between reselling and dedicated hosting that one shouldn't attempt it?

Thanks - Pixellent Interactive

Ohio, Michigan, Indiana
    I started with a colocated server, and here I am offering it myself.

I saw it this way...... if you know what you are doing, jump in and do what you need to do.