hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : Change of default page in Cpanel
Reply

Forum Jump

Change of default page in Cpanel

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Singapore/Melbourne
Posts: 6,852

Change of default page in Cpanel


Is there any function in cpanel that allows you to set your own default page instead of the typical index,default.htm/html?



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Security Ninja
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,767
You mean, when an account is created you want your own index.html put in their /public_html/ directory?

__________________
Patrick William | RACK911 Labs | Software Security Auditing
300+ Vulnerabilities Found - Get a Quote @ http://www.RACK911Labs.com

www.HostingSecList.com - Security notices for the hosting community.

  #3  
Old
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Singapore/Melbourne
Posts: 6,852
No I mean instead of index.html I want the default page to be say abc.pl . Anyway to change that?

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Security Ninja
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,767
You could try changing it globally under the Apache httpd.conf file:

Quote:
<IfModule mod_dir.c>
DirectoryIndex abc.pl index.html index.wml index.cgi index.shtml index.jsp index.js index.jp index.php4 index.php3 index.php index.phtml index.htm default.htm defaul.html
</IfModule>
If you put abc.pl before index.html, it should become the default page... although depending on what you're trying to accomplish, you may have to remove the other entries.

More information:
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/1.3/mod/mod_dir.html

__________________
Patrick William | RACK911 Labs | Software Security Auditing
300+ Vulnerabilities Found - Get a Quote @ http://www.RACK911Labs.com

www.HostingSecList.com - Security notices for the hosting community.

  #5  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 44
Hi,

If you wish to use an alternate file as a default index page for perticuler domain. You can set following directive in .htaccess

DirectoryIndex abc.pl

  #6  
Old
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Singapore/Melbourne
Posts: 6,852
Thanks! This is great advice, will try it out

  #7  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 617
Try cpanel-skel directory. This is the skeleton of what going contain in public_html.

  #8  
Old
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
make my own default home page

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat H View Post
You mean, when an account is created you want your own index.html put in their /public_html/ directory?
hi,
I want to setuo my own default home page when an account created in Cpanel.
What shoul I do?

Regards,
Behrang

  #9  
Old
Security Ninja
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by threedjump View Post
I want to setuo my own default home page when an account created in Cpanel.
Create the HTML files and put them under /root/cpanel3-skel and when a new cPanel account is created, those files will be placed under the customers /public_html/ directory. If you do not have root (such as if you're a reseller) then there should be a /cpanel3-skel/ directory under your primary reseller account.

__________________
Patrick William | RACK911 Labs | Software Security Auditing
300+ Vulnerabilities Found - Get a Quote @ http://www.RACK911Labs.com

www.HostingSecList.com - Security notices for the hosting community.

  #10  
Old
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Hi,
many thanks for your help.
I have another question.
How can I setup Cpanle to send the host information email automaticly?
when an account is created, an email send to user that contain needed login information for user?

Regards,
Behrang Mousavi

  #11  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kerala, India
Posts: 4,740
By default the new account login details are sent to the "Server contact email address" specified in the server setup. There is no setting in WHM by which you can change this behavior in the manner you have specified.

__________________
David | www.cliffsupport.com
Affordable Server Management Solutions sales AT cliffsupport DOT com
CliffWebManager | Access WHM from iPhone and Android

  #12  
Old
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Cool change default.htm to another page

Okay what boonchuan actually wanted to know was.

How do you set the default home page in CPanel?

When you type the url without the page filename, then it would automatically load...default.htm instead of index.php.

Well Boonchuan here's how you do it.
Go to Domains
Select the domain you want to Edit.
Then Select Web Site Settings
In the "Default Docs" box, make sure the file you want to use is at the top of that list.

NOT EVERYTHING has to be done the hard way

  #13  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoSkroefie View Post
Okay what boonchuan actually wanted to know was.

How do you set the default home page in CPanel?

When you type the url without the page filename, then it would automatically load...default.htm instead of index.php.

Well Boonchuan here's how you do it.
Go to Domains
Select the domain you want to Edit.
Then Select Web Site Settings
In the "Default Docs" box, make sure the file you want to use is at the top of that list.

NOT EVERYTHING has to be done the hard way

Dude, 8 month old thread...

__________________
Find a new pet for your home ... Find a new home for your pet - WeGotPets.com
Domain reseller accounts - NamesVibe

  #14  
Old
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by GORF View Post
Dude, 8 month old thread...
errr dude.. I googled it and google gave me the link, TOTALLY WASTED my time clicking on it ... had to figure it out myself...

Now..the thread actually has the answer, stop complaining!

  #15  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kerala, India
Posts: 4,740
Try to use a bit of common sense friend
Boonchaun asked this question on "09-26-2007". So its almost 2.5 years old. He most probably does not need answer for this now.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
GoDaddy Supports cPanel as Part of Web Hosting Updates Web Hosting News 2014-05-09 12:40:20
TrendyTools Launches HTML 5 Website Builder cPanel Plugin Web Hosting News 2013-08-07 14:18:20
cPanel & WHM Software 11.36 Reaches Stable Tier Status Web Hosting News 2013-04-09 11:44:33
SSHD Rootkit in the Wild Blog 2013-02-22 16:44:08
cPanel Security Updates Address Perl Module Vulnerabilities Web Hosting News 2012-12-06 12:55:54


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?