hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : Softlayer push button OS reload
Reply

Forum Jump

Softlayer push button OS reload

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2007, 04:24 PM
strainer strainer is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 142

Softlayer push button OS reload


I just gotta say, the softlayer push button OS reload is so much fun I am considering clicking it again. I have had a couple servers there since almost the beginning, and while they have had some growing pains (who wouldn't), they just keep adding features. I just got a dual proc quad core Xenon they had on special. They only thing I am worried about is that once they are the only hosting company in the U.S. prices will be probably even higher.

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-22-2007, 05:37 PM
Alex Alex is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oz
Posts: 3,497
I have yet to try the push button OS reload, so I'm glad to see it works well.

I have however extensively used the rest of their features, including the private network IPMI and remote IPMI reboot / power cycle. They even have a nifty little WAP portal, which I can use to power cycle servers from my phone.

It's nice to see such innovation in a market that seems pretty cut and dry (you get the box and the bandwidth, and maybe a remote reboot port if you're lucky). Hopefully other providers will follow, and SL will improve their support staff.


Alex

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2007, 06:54 PM
peruviantalk peruviantalk is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,634
SL has so many features which are very helpful and cost down writing an email and asking for help.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 09-22-2007, 07:25 PM
Dimu Dimu is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 旺财小&
Posts: 18
Time is money my friend !

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2007, 09:16 PM
strainer strainer is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 142
I am a big believer in self managed hosting; I don't want any help, control panels, etc. But giving me IPMI (now with KVM not just a text console) and the automated reload for when I want to reload the OS) its taking it to a new level for me. Previously most of my servers were in our private data center. Now that we have so much remote control we are feeling more confident about outsourcing more servers.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
SoftLayer to Open London Data Center in July Web Hosting News 2014-06-30 14:21:54
SoftLayer Launches Direct Network Access Service for Cloud Customers Web Hosting News 2014-06-10 16:06:40
IBM Opens SoftLayer Data Center in Hong Kong as Part of $1.2 Billion Cloud Push Web Hosting News 2014-06-02 10:49:06
IBM Launches New SoftLayer Partner Program Initiatives to Help Partners Drive Cloud Demand Web Hosting News 2014-04-30 18:21:58
Service Providers Push Updates to Fight OpenSSL Heartbleed Bug Web Hosting News 2014-05-01 08:31:27


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?