burstable bandwidth??

What exactly is burstable bandwidth ???

Thanks

brands,

With burstable bandwidth, there are no bandwidth restrictions to the account; your traffic is 'burstable' beyond what your plan includes. If you exceed your plan for the month, you will be billed at the overage rate per GB. So if someone offers bustable bandwidth, you'll need to find out what the overage charge is.

Without burstable bandwidth; if your plan includes 2 GB per month, that's all you get... when you reach it, your done until you order a large plan.

Hope this helps..

Khamai

brands,

I'm not a network expert, but I don't agree with Khamai's definition of burstable.

I believe is a "burstable" vs. "capped" thing. Burstable means that there is no limit (i.e. cap) as to how fast data transfer can occur. The only limits will be the physical limits of the hardware and the network connections themselves.

For example, for a server that I manage we average 63 KB/second but the system has bursted to well over 800 KB/second.

I may be all wet, but I'm pretty sure that's what they mean by burst.

Frank
    Umbra Hosting
    cPanel | Softaculous | CloudLinux | R1Soft | Ksplice
    Web Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS, Dedicated Servers, Colocation
    UmbraHosting.com

Originally posted by ffeingol
    I believe is a "burstable" vs. "capped" thing. Burstable means that there is no limit (i.e. cap) as to how fast data transfer can occur. The only limits will be the physical limits of the hardware and the network connections themselves.
    Yes, that is correct. It should also be noted that the amount of burstability is inversely proportional to the amount of utilization of the line at the time.

That is, if a T1 has a full meg of outgoing traffic at a given point in time, you will not be able to burst past 512kbit/s (roughly of course, a T1 pumping a full 1.54mbit/s isn't going to happen, it's just theoretical).