hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Specialty Hosting and Markets : VOIP etc : VoIP on a VPS?
Reply

Forum Jump

VoIP on a VPS?

Reply Post New Thread In VOIP etc Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-22-2007, 03:23 PM
michael17 michael17 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 20

VoIP on a VPS?


Hello,

i have a VPS and i have a VoIP phone that i use (i use it alot) i was putting credit into my account then i thought why cant i install my own VoIP Server. I started searching and came up with some software but now iam stuck.
What i realy like to do is have a VoIP server installed on my VPS

how would i do this?
What is the best software to use?
Do you have to pay for the software?
What are the min requirements of the VPS?
Is there somesort of webapplication so i can easily configure the software?
Can you make calls to other VoIP servers and Home Landlines?
Is it posible to make money from a VoIP Server?

Thanks
Michael


Last edited by michael17; 08-22-2007 at 03:34 PM.


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-22-2007, 07:16 PM
coloheart coloheart is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 207
Not a good idea.Because voipserver takes quite a lot memory and cpu. So better to use a dedicated one. But if you want to use for yourself only. You can give it a try. There are number of softwares some are free and some are costly. Each has their own features . Before suggesting anything need to know in details what features do you look for and which providers you want to connect to.

  #3  
Old 09-14-2007, 08:39 AM
finly finly is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by coloheart View Post
Not a good idea.Because voipserver takes quite a lot memory and cpu. So better to use a dedicated one. But if you want to use for yourself only. You can give it a try. There are number of softwares some are free and some are costly. Each has their own features . Before suggesting anything need to know in details what features do you look for and which providers you want to connect to.
Thanks coloheart, Could you please explain a bit more about the software, and what other main things for this? I want to use it for myself maybe.. But, I am really DUMB in this field.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:19 PM
luki luki is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 764
You can do a lot with asterisk, and it's open source. Asterisk by itself does not need that much memory and CPU power, however, it is very time critical so a VPS is not a good idea. Beware, learning curve can be steep if you want to do it right.

__________________
Pings <1 ms, Unlimited Transfer, Lowest Price: http://localhost/

  #5  
Old 09-16-2007, 04:41 AM
abluegrape abluegrape is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 389
Michael,

After weeks of getting nowhere trying to get Asterisk going (yes I know, but I get bored easily!) I stumbled upon 3CX software.

After getting a Windows VPS sorted out I installed the free edition of the software for some testing and within the hour everything was up and going.

The VPS I am on is fine, audio is crystal clear between a few people on the box and it comes with voice mail etc.

Worth a look if you get a Windows VPS in my opinion.

Ry

  #6  
Old 10-19-2007, 01:44 PM
hardweb hardweb is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 32
There are basically the same QoS limitations on a Linux/Windows VPS. Windows is even more limited. The fact that you installed it fast on Windows, is the VoIP software advantage, not the OS one

  #7  
Old 10-19-2007, 06:08 PM
Schwagoo Schwagoo is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 52
I have a VPS with Lylix.net
I am very pleased with it. I have it set up with a couple voip lines from vitelity.net

The VPS runs Trixbox (an all-inclusive asterisk package). It's all open source and will handle about 30 concurrent calls on my $17/month VPS
PM me if you have any questions.

  #8  
Old 10-20-2007, 04:02 AM
tical tical is offline
The least among you.
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 977
Several of our clients run asterisk under a Xen VPS and report no problems.

__________________

Now selling BigVPS's!
Jacksonville Colocation and dedicated servers by colo4jax
We are *not* a reseller. We own our servers, switches, routers and racks.


  #9  
Old 10-20-2007, 08:29 AM
astutiumRob astutiumRob is offline
Will Host for Food
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 3,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by michael17 View Post
i have a VPS and i have a VoIP phone that i use (i use it alot) i was putting credit into my account then i thought why cant i install my own VoIP Server
You can as long as your VPS is good enough, but you'll *still* need a VoIP account with someone and credit - so what are you actually trying to achieve ?

__________________
Rob Golding Astutium Ltd - UK based ICANN Accredited Domain Registrar - proud to accept BitCoins
Buying Web Hosts and Domain Registrars Today @ hostacquisitions.co.uk
UK Web Hosting | UK VPS | UK Dedicated Servers | ADSL/FTTC | Backup/DR | Cloud
UK Colocation | Reseller Accounts | IPv6 Transit | Secondary MX | DNS | WHMCS Modules

  #10  
Old 10-23-2007, 05:22 PM
blubb blubb is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by othellotech View Post
You can as long as your VPS is good enough, but you'll *still* need a VoIP account with someone and credit - so what are you actually trying to achieve ?
I was wondering the same, but I think he's aiming at something different here. As it is, it's just a 'voice chat' limited to the server's clients and not linked to the PSTN

  #11  
Old 10-24-2007, 08:44 AM
wmcyow wmcyow is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 13
To the OP - not sure how you are going about setting up asterisk - but by using the trixbox distribution - the setup is much more simplified. It's a one-stop shop for VOIP.

  #12  
Old 10-27-2007, 01:43 PM
budman714 budman714 is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 111
I am about to release the OPENVZ image on my personal blog tonight/today.
Currently I have Trixbox 2.0.0 working 100%. The newest trixbox is almost completed(just takes time)

I would be happy to give anyone the pre-installed image for free. just pm me for a download link(not sure if I can post it here).


You or your host will need a timing device installed for conference calling etc..(though people say they use it fine for just a normal phone line with out timing).

__________________
boxVPS.com - How big is your box?

  #13  
Old 10-27-2007, 09:37 PM
rafamp rafamp is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
i think it would work if you ware managing a voip server of a small company... but it would be cheaper to simply buy some credits on skype or similar

  #14  
Old 11-28-2007, 10:38 AM
SysAdminMan SysAdminMan is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 546
Hi,

I've been running Asterisk on a pretty small vps from tektonic (256mb but there's a whole bunch of other stuff on there).

Wrote a bit of a write up here - http://sysadminman.net/archives/9

Matt

__________________
SysAdminMan - Asterisk PBX hosting - FreePBX, A2Billing and Elastix

  #15  
Old 12-01-2007, 11:55 AM
Echelon Echelon is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Carleton Place, ON
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by budman714 View Post
I am about to release the OPENVZ image on my personal blog tonight/today.
Currently I have Trixbox 2.0.0 working 100%. The newest trixbox is almost completed(just takes time)

I would be happy to give anyone the pre-installed image for free. just pm me for a download link(not sure if I can post it here).


You or your host will need a timing device installed for conference calling etc..(though people say they use it fine for just a normal phone line with out timing).
The only module you need timing for is the conferencing module. If you don't need conferencing, then the timing module is not needed.

__________________
Ryan G.
Owner
Umgardi.ca

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Otelco Acquires Maine Web Hosting Provider Reliable Networks to Grow VoIP, Managed Services Web Hosting News 2014-01-06 11:46:12
Telefonica-Owned VoIP Service Jajah to Shut Down in January Web Hosting News 2013-12-02 13:33:15
Vonage Acquires VoIP Services Provider Vocalocity for $130M Web Hosting News 2013-10-11 10:46:29
8x8 VoIP Service Adds HIPAA, HITECH Compliance Web Hosting News 2013-05-08 12:10:54
Cbeyond Phone Service Delivers VoIP to SMB Hosting Customers Web Hosting News 2012-12-10 11:01:14


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?