hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : Status:ACTIVE
Reply

Hosting Security and Technology Configuring and optimizing web hosting servers and operating systems, developing administration scripts, building servers, protecting against hackers, and general security (SSL certificates, etc.)
Forum Jump

Status:ACTIVE

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-22-2007, 01:05 PM
cuantica cuantica is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 204

Status:ACTIVE


Hello, I have a message in queue for about 24 hours and checking the delivery log I found this.

LOG: MAIN
cwd=/usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/docroot 4 args: exim -v -M 1INUw5-0007VU-DZ
delivering 1INUw5-0007VU-DZ
Connecting to mx.uol.xxx.br [xxx.xxx.com.br]:25 ... connected
SMTP<< 220 starfury20.xxx.com.br ESMTP
SMTP>> EHLO svr01.xx***********
SMTP<< 250-starfury20.xxx.com.br
250-PIPELINING
250-SIZE 20971520
250-VRFY
250-ETRN
250 8BITMIME
SMTP>> MAIL FROM: SIZE=3111
SMTP>> RCPT TO:
SMTP>> DATA
SMTP<< 250 Ok
SMTP<< 450 Client host rejected: cannot find your hostname, [74.86.12.2]
SMTP<< 554 Error: no valid recipients
SMTP>> QUIT

I have checked dnsreport for this domain and found this

WARNING: One or more of your mailservers is claiming to be a host other than what it really is (the SMTP greeting should be a 3-digit code, followed by a space or a dash, then the host name). If your mailserver sends out E-mail using this domain in its EHLO or HELO, your E-mail might get blocked by anti-spam software. This is also a technical violation of RFC821 4.3 (and RFC2821 4.3.1). Note that the hostname given in the SMTP greeting should have an A record pointing back to the same server. Note that this one test may use a cached DNS record.

***********.co claims to be host svr01.xx*********** [but that host is at 74.xx.xx.2 (may be cached), not 74.xx.xxx.13]. <br />

What should i do to correct this error? btw, I host about 100 sites on this server.

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-22-2007, 01:19 PM
david510 david510 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kerala, India
Posts: 4,617
Quote:
SMTP<< 450 Client host rejected: cannot find your hostname, [74.86.12.2]
The reverse dns for 74.86.12.2 is set as following.

Quote:
74.86.12.2 PTR record: litiumweb.com.
Try setting the reverse dns as full server hostname. eg, host1.litiumweb.com

__________________
David | www.cliffsupport.com
Affordable Server Management Solutions sales AT cliffsupport DOT com
iWebManager | Access WHM from iPhone and Android

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-22-2007, 01:20 PM
Cristi4n Cristi4n is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cluj Napoca
Posts: 468
It's ok, ignore that. Also ignore dnsreport on that, you need to check if the primary ip address on the server is ok, not the domain address because by default e-mail is getting out through the primary ip. If indeed your site's ip address is the primary address of the server then you need to change the HELO in exim to the PTR of the ip. If you do not have one, just ask the guys were the server is to set a PTR for that ip.

__________________
IntoDNS - Check your DNS health and configuration
IntoVPS - US Fremont and Dallas;EU - Netherlands and Romania VPS hosting

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 08-22-2007, 01:44 PM
Patrick Patrick is offline
Stairway To Hosting
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,057
The problem appears to be that the sender has not specified a valid recipient.

Quote:
SMTP>> MAIL FROM: SIZE=3111
SMTP>> RCPT TO:
SMTP>> DATA
SMTP<< 250 Ok
SMTP<< 450 Client host rejected: cannot find your hostname, [74.86.12.2]
SMTP<< 554 Error: no valid recipients
SMTP>> QUIT
Notice the parts highlighted in bold...

__________________

SYN Hosting - Affordable, Reliable & Secure Web Hosting - Proudly In Business Since 2006!

Host Unlimited Websites -/- cPanel -/- Softaculous -/- CloudFlare -/- SSH Access -/- 24/7 Tech Support
http://www.synhosting.com - Need a Canadian budget managed dedicated server? Click here for details.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
GlobalSign First CA to Offer Certificate Revocation Status Services over IPv6 Web Hosting News 2013-03-13 12:34:38
Web Host Active 24 Uses Atomia Software to Build Hosting, DNS Platform Web Hosting News 2012-10-26 15:05:01
Major DreamHost Outage Hits VPS, Dedicated Hosting Customers Web Hosting News 2012-01-30 10:57:44
Data Center Solutions Firm Active Power Names VP of Engineering Web Hosting News 2011-11-23 20:51:37
Active Power Names Interim President and CEO Following Jim Clishem's Resignation Web Hosting News 2011-10-18 17:01:39


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?