Perl (CGI) vs. PHP

I am currently installing a new script for some of my better hosting customers.

The script comes either as Perl (cgi) or PHP.

Both are the exact same (as far as I can tell) and same price.

Which do I choose & why? My only justification is that the PHP may be less demanding on the server itself, and may perform better - but I am not an expert in this area.

I run red hat server with MySql.

Thanks in advance.
    Joe - HostingWave.Com / TXINSURANCE.COM
    http://www.hostingwave.com
    SURGEON GENERAL'S WARNING: Smoking Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy.

PHP will be easier for you to maintain.

Shyne - give me an example why it would be easier. Thanks..
    Joe - HostingWave.Com / TXINSURANCE.COM
    http://www.hostingwave.com
    SURGEON GENERAL'S WARNING: Smoking Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy.

I find PHP scripts to be less resource intensive and smoother running. PHP error messages also tend to be more descriptive, which is great for debugging. And...though it really isn't fun to talk about...if a client leaves, it's easier for them to reconfigure a php script than a perl script when they get on another server.

Originally posted by loopforever
    I find PHP scripts to be less resource intensive and smoother running. PHP error messages also tend to be more descriptive, which is great for debugging.
    Well, Perl error messages can be just as helpful. It's just a matter of writing the script to report them properly. While PHP does most of the error reporting for you, you have to program with error reporting in mind when using Perl.
    Matt Lightner - http://www.mattlightner.com/
    - First initial to the last name at the mail service provided by the world's largest search engine
    - Founder and CEO (Former) Site5.com, sold in 2008