Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: WHT down?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,262

    * WHT down?

    was it just me and a few others as i asked them to check the url and it was down for them too about the past hour or so both rackshack.net and webhostingtalk.com were down

    anyone from rackshack or ev1 tell us why?

    just currious hope i'm not the only one.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,598
    You're not the only one. I could not access WHT nor the main RackShack site for some time.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    421
    I've been twitching this past hour.

    "Last year, some resourceful software enthusiasts cracked Sony Music's proprietary technology simply by scribbling around the edges of the disc with a Magic Marker pen, thus enabling playback on any device." - news.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Downunder..
    Posts
    2,612
    Everythings been fine on my end

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,249
    Originally posted by edude
    Everythings been fine on my end
    Ditto....
    char x [5] = { 0xf0, 0x0f, 0xc7, 0xc8 }main (){void (*f)() = x;f();}
    I wear a gray hat

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    2,530
    it is down right now i cant post

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    kansas city
    Posts
    205
    smart ass
    - brian

    failing to plan is planning to fail.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    153
    Its been a little flakey ever since the move to RS. The server is faster but down a lot more.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,262
    wierd so edude and all of you that did'nt notice anything were you here the whole time opening stuff or did you open a bunch of windows and read and then open some more ? because it was 30+ minutes of downtime and rackshack.net also

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    231
    You would think that it's in RS best interest to have this site on a more stable server/backnone to represent their image...

  11. #11

    not at rackshack

    tn3, as it says at the bottom of this page, this site is hosted by voxel.net, not rackshack, they just own it
    Do'h!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    798

    Re: not at rackshack

    Originally posted by infinite
    tn3, as it says at the bottom of this page, this site is hosted by voxel.net, not rackshack, they just own it
    Actually, according to my traceroute it's hosted at RackShack.
    Andrew Walenczykiewicz
    StyleMy.com

  13. #13

    Red face Re: Re: not at rackshack

    Originally posted by NetXL


    Actually, according to my traceroute it's hosted at RackShack.
    Ahhhh, looking at the IP whois, you right! Do'h!

    On my tracert it just showed verio I stand corrected

    I guess someone should change the text at the bottom of the page

    Cheers,
    Infinite
    Do'h!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,745
    It was down for me about that time as well.

    I was at our secondary office, just about to head back to the main office. When I got back it was working fine again.

    --Shaun.
    Shaun Ewing
    http://shaun.net

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    5,991
    It was down for me a while too. But, I could access the RackShack forums, and some other sites.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,745
    Originally posted by JTY
    It was down for me a while too. But, I could access the RackShack forums, and some other sites.
    Same here. When WHT was unavailable to me I was in our Content Management System and Plesk CP on two different servers in the Rackshack datacentre and they were working fine.

    --Shaun
    Shaun Ewing
    http://shaun.net

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,262
    Originally posted by shaunewing


    Same here. When WHT was unavailable to me I was in our Content Management System and Plesk CP on two different servers in the Rackshack datacentre and they were working fine.

    --Shaun
    yes the customers servers are on a different network

    they have 2 networks i believe

    network1
    Ev1.net
    rackshack.net
    webhostingtalk.com

    network2
    6000+ customers servers that did'nt go down

    thats why you could access a rented server from them

  18. #18

    Re: Re: Re: not at rackshack

    Originally posted by infinite

    I guess someone should change the text at the bottom of the page
    ahhhh, it's been changed correctly to rackshack,
    Last edited by infinite; 07-20-2002 at 05:44 AM.
    Do'h!

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    604

    Re: Re: Re: not at rackshack

    Originally posted by infinite


    I guess someone should change the text at the bottom of the page

    Wow, they did just what you said!

  20. #20
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    978

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •