Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Webmin help...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,008

    Talking Webmin help...

    Hello guys,

    I've recently purchased a server w/ FreeBSD and I'm really new with linux and all that, so what I'm asking probably sounds really retarted to all you gurus; but hey I'm learning.

    The situation: I'm in the process of installing Webmin on my server and everything is going alright so far until now. The part I'm stuck at is in the installation instructions where it says:

    In the newly created directory is a script called setup.sh. When run, this script will ask for:
    One problem... How exactly do you "run" this script? It's there, but I just don't know the command to run it...

    Once again, sorry for being an idiot but I just don't know the command to run the script...

    Thanks in advance...

  2. #2
    OK, here you go:

    with root username, enter

    cd DIRECTORY_NAME <ENTER>
    ./setup.sh <ENTER>


    where DIRECTORY_NAME depends where you are installing the software


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,008
    Thank you, Worked perfectly...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,008
    Yeah baby...

    Webmin is working

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    596
    Does webmin install apache with it?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,008
    Originally posted by Cephren
    Does webmin install apache with it?
    My server came with apache so I don't really know for sure, but still i'm almost 90% sure that it doesn't...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Amherst, NH
    Posts
    241

    Nope...

    Originally posted by Cephren
    Does webmin install apache with it?
    Nope, apache usually comes with your linux system, and other, larger Control Panels (ie, Plesk, Ensim, etc) usually come with updates, or back-dates .

    I've installed webmin, it's cute, and does some things that I wish Plesk would do for me...


    Steve
    Steven Santinelli
    www.sms-hosting.com - Premium Web Hosting
    www.sms-telecom.com - Low cost long distance/800 Service!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,249
    As with almost all *nix products you can easliy download apache.

    FreeBSD download for apache

    http://www.apache.org/dist/httpd/bin...eebsd/?C=M&O=D
    char x [5] = { 0xf0, 0x0f, 0xc7, 0xc8 }main (){void (*f)() = x;f();}
    I wear a gray hat

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    21
    Originally posted by Cephren
    Does webmin install apache with it?
    Nope, it uses it's own mini web server. It's a good thing too, because sometimes you can create a situation where your apache configuration stops it from starting, but it's nice to know you can still get into the webmin.

    It's also a good idea to go into webmin configuration page and get it to run under https for extra security.

    Webmin is a good tool, but I still find I end up wanting to look at the conf files to see what is really going on.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    596
    I want to test out webmin.

    So lets say on an empty box, I install Redhat 7.2,
    Install apache and most of the web server rpms such as mysql, php, xin services ....

    What rpms do I need specific?

  11. #11
    Originally posted by Cephren
    I want to test out webmin.

    So lets say on an empty box, I install Redhat 7.2,
    Install apache and most of the web server rpms such as mysql, php, xin services ....

    What rpms do I need specific?
    Depends what you want. If you want apache (webmin supports it) install it and then using webmin set-up all required paths/config files for apache module and there you go.

    Well, I always suggest not to use rpm's if you can get and install from source ))

    http://www.apache.org/dist/httpd/

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,008
    Perl is a must for webmin, so if you don't have it for whatever reason, I'd install it also...

  13. #13
    Originally posted by 311
    Perl is a must for webmin, so if you don't have it for whatever reason, I'd install it also...
    yes, coz webmin also runs own web server written in perl ;=)

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    596
    Thanx Guys!
    I shall go request a test box from my supervisor.
    and if I run into problems I will bother you guys

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •