hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : Hosting Secondary Nameservers

Forum Jump

Hosting Secondary Nameservers

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2007, 12:26 PM
Junior Guru Wannabe

Hosting Secondary Nameservers

Hi,

I am developing a site for a new company that will run under a medical engineering firm. I'm currently the only employee and am setting up websites and graphics for the company, but working out of the same office as everyone else. We currently have a VPS through iPower to host our site on, and everything is dandy. However we only own one IP address on the VPS, and I want to be in charge of my secondary nameserver, as I will also eventually use it as a secondary MX server. I have never done this before so I have a few questions about it. My previous experience has all been graphic design and web design, not much on the hosting side of things.

1.Is it possible to run a server on a XP desktop just using Apache or similar software (and a dynamic DNS service)?

2. Would it be possible to run this through the company LAN and router to make it accessible via the web without any serious tinkering on their network? (it has to stay up, and I have no idea what kind of routers or firewalls they are using currently). Basically given the standard setup how hard is it to open up the ports on the router(s)? I've done this only on a home router before, so I assume it can't be much different.

3. How do you go about doing it?

Sponsored Links
Old 06-13-2007, 01:44 PM
Junior Guru Wannabe

Scratch that. I got approval to buy a simple (cheap) dedicated to use as a backup MX server and a nameserver. I guess now my question is what kind people would recommend.

Old 06-22-2007, 12:22 PM

Hi there

Good move on getting the second server approved. Any other way woud be to messy.