Suggestions for Reseller Host (Specific Requirements)

I know you guys probably get a thousand of these suggestion requests, but I haven't quite found what I'm looking for using the Search.

I've currently got a custom deal with a local hosting company where I'm an H-Sphere reseller with my own physical server (which I own and maintain the hardware). I'm happy with the arrangement except I think I bit off more than I could chew. I don't want to support my own hardware anymore and the bandwidth charges are killing me ($7/GB).

I went with this arrangement because I host custom web applications (I'm a php/java developer) for my clients and I need a lot of control over my server.

Server Requirements:
    - 10 GB disk space to start
    - 50-100 GB included bandwidth with reasonable overage rates
    - Root access (or at least someone I can call to make changes)
    - PHP 5 (PHP4 would be nice but optional)
    - mySQL
    - PostgreSQL
    - Apache/Unix
    - Control Panel: I'm currently using HSphere, but I wouldn't mind trying out cPanel
    - Ruby on Rails would be nice
    - Java might be a possible future requirement

My dilemma is that I require the flexibility of a dedicated server (i.e. root access, the ability to load Java if I need it) and the scalability of a shared solution. I only have enough sys admin skills to be dangerous, so I need knowledgeable support and I'd like the ability to scale everything up as my company grows.

I've been looking at the big guys like Dreamhost and Host Gator, but I'm not sure if they can offer the services I require. For example, if I require Java in the future, I'd like the host to install, maintain and support it for me.

I would like to keep costs below $100/month if possible, but I realize I might have to go with a smaller outfit and pay more.

I'm only familiar with shared and dedicated solutions. Would VPS be the way to go? Are there any good hosts out there that fit the bill?

Hi!