hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : ibdata1 - need help transfer.
Reply

Forum Jump

ibdata1 - need help transfer.

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Ottomatic backup specialist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 756

ibdata1 - need help transfer.


Hello,

How do I transfer my ibdata1 from /var/lib/mysql?

I tried rsyncing and SCPing but it always gets corrupted.

Thanks,
Otto

__________________
Otto Yiu
Rsync Palace ● Providing offsite backups since 2007.
Backomatic ● Hassle-free Automated cPanel/WHM, DirectAdmin, FTP, and MySQL backups.




Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,644
The MySQL server needs to be shutdown if you want to copy those files directly.

__________________
Eric Spaeth
Enterprise Network Engineer :: Hosting Hobbyist :: Master of Procrastination
"The really cool thing about facts is they remain true regardless of who states them." -SpaethCo

  #3  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 308
Manual "Moving an InnoDB Database to Another Machine":
http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.1/en/moving.html

__________________
MiniVDS.com - Extremely low prices at small VPS (Linux and FreeBSD)
ISPsystem - Offers a flexible and affordable hosting solution

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Ottomatic backup specialist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 756
spaethco: Did that, I even copied it to a new directory first and then rsynced it.

__________________
Otto Yiu
Rsync Palace ● Providing offsite backups since 2007.
Backomatic ● Hassle-free Automated cPanel/WHM, DirectAdmin, FTP, and MySQL backups.


  #5  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Posts: 259
Have you checked your mysqld is not being automatically restarted by something like SIM, during the rsync?

  #6  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 18
Killall mysqld process and then try to copy the data. I think it should work

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Cloud Providers Could Face Scrutiny as Europe’s Privacy Watchdog Calls for Stronger Data Protection Web Hosting News 2014-07-16 14:16:16
European ISPs BT and Alcatel-Lucent Reach 'Fastest Ever' Broadband Speeds Web Hosting News 2014-01-24 14:25:41
IBM Acquisition of Aspera Expected to Boost File Transfer Speeds in Hosted Applications Web Hosting News 2013-12-23 17:56:08
WiredTree Upgrades Resources for VPS and Hybrid Hosting Plans Web Hosting News 2013-08-07 14:21:37
Web Host AYKsolutions Launches Unmetered Linux VPS Hosting at Chicago Data Center Web Hosting News 2013-01-07 16:23:08


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?