Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Leesburg, VA
    Posts
    3,205

    DNS Problem, need a second pair of eyes

    Hey all -- I am having a problem with a domain name. I am sure it is something simple, but I can't figure it out...so I'd like someone to double check for me.

    The two domains are:

    www.hwr.us
    www.hostingweatherrerport.com

    Both point to the same website.

    www.hostingweatherreport.com works just fine, I can ping and get to the website no problem.

    www.hwr.us does not seem to work. I cannot ping the address, or reach the website.

    I checked www.whois.us, and it lists the correct nameservers:

    ns1.vbind.com
    ns1.everydns.net
    ns2.everydns.net

    The DNS servers seem to be showing the correct information:

    Code:
    [[email protected] root]# dig @ns1.vbind.com www.hwr.us A
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.1.3 <<>> @ns1.vbind.com www.hwr.us A
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 45071
    ;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 3, ADDITIONAL: 1
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;www.hwr.us.                    IN      A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    www.hwr.us.             38400   IN      A       66.150.201.102
    
    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    hwr.us.                 38400   IN      NS      ns1.vbind.com.
    hwr.us.                 38400   IN      NS      ns1.everydns.net.
    hwr.us.                 38400   IN      NS      ns2.everydns.net.
    
    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    ns1.vbind.com.          38400   IN      A       66.150.201.103
    
    ;; Query time: 211 msec
    ;; SERVER: 66.150.201.103#53(ns1.vbind.com)
    ;; WHEN: Fri Jul 12 07:30:54 2002
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 135
    Code:
    [[email protected] root]# dig @ns1.everydns.net www.hwr.us A
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.1.3 <<>> @ns1.everydns.net www.hwr.us A
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 40144
    ;; flags: qr aa rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 3, ADDITIONAL: 2
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;www.hwr.us.                    IN      A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    www.hwr.us.             38400   IN      A       66.150.201.102
    
    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    hwr.us.                 38400   IN      NS      ns1.vbind.com.
    hwr.us.                 38400   IN      NS      ns1.everydns.net.
    hwr.us.                 38400   IN      NS      ns2.everydns.net.
    
    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    ns1.everydns.net.       86400   IN      A       209.75.39.141
    ns2.everydns.net.       86400   IN      A       209.75.39.142
    
    ;; Query time: 364 msec
    ;; SERVER: 209.75.39.141#53(ns1.everydns.net)
    ;; WHEN: Fri Jul 12 07:31:44 2002
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 151

    I restarted and then rebooted our local caching server, and it did not have any affect, I cannot seem to resolve the domain name. I also tried incrementing the serial number, again, with no affect.

    I am sure I am missing something simple, any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    5,383
    Have you made the correct entries to httpd.conf?
    Clustered Hosting With Continuous Data Protection (CDP)
    http://www.solidinternet.com
    8 Years of hosting excellence!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Leesburg, VA
    Posts
    3,205
    Originally posted by Myacen
    Have you made the correct entries to httpd.conf?
    Yes . But, even if I hadn't, that should not prevent me from pinging the host.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    283

    Hmm...

    Code:
    [email protected]:~$ host -t ns hwr.us    
    Host hwr.us not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
    [email protected]:~$
    That's not so good...

    Code:
    [email protected]:~$ host -t ns openbsd.us
    openbsd.us name server NS1.EVERYDNS.NET.
    openbsd.us name server NS2.EVERYDNS.NET.
    openbsd.us name server NS3.EVERYDNS.NET.
    [email protected]:~$
    I would check with the .US registry.

    -davidu
    EveryDNS.NET :: FreeDNS and more.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    283

    Odd...

    It's showing up in their whois:

    http://www.whois.us/whois.cgi?TLD=us...us&TYPE=DOMAIN

    It just doesn't seem to be in the .US zone.

    I'll play with this more after my final exam!

    -davidu
    EveryDNS.NET :: FreeDNS and more.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ponchatoula, LA
    Posts
    497
    I did a dnstrace with the DJBDNS tools and it looks like your nameservers are not listed with with the .us root name servers. I've only been playing with this for a couple of weeks, so I'm far from an expert

    I'd try contacting either your Registrar or Neustar.

    Richard
    Enigma Hosting
    "I wasn't speeding, I was qualifying!"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Leesburg, VA
    Posts
    3,205
    Originally posted by Noldar
    I did a dnstrace with the DJBDNS tools and it looks like your nameservers are not listed with with the .us root name servers. I've only been playing with this for a couple of weeks, so I'm far from an expert
    I am pretty sure this means they are:

    http://www.whois.us/whois.cgi?TLD=us...h=Submit+Query

    http://www.whois.us/whois.cgi?TLD=us...h=Submit+Query

    See, I have been trying to get a job at Neustar for a couple of months...this just goes to show that they really need my help .

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,067
    Code:
    [[email protected]]# host -ld hwr.us
    ;; res_nmkquery(QUERY, hwr.us, IN, NS)
    ;; res_send()
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 23311
    ;; flags: rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    ;;      hwr.us, type = NS, class = IN
    ;; Querying server (# 1) address = 127.0.0.1
    ;; new DG socket
    ;; got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 23311
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0
    ;;      hwr.us, type = NS, class = IN
    us.                     2h59m27s IN SOA  a.gtld.biz. dnssupport.neustar.us. (
                                            2002086313      ; serial
                                            15M             ; refresh
                                            15M             ; retry
                                            1W              ; expiry
                                            1D )            ; minimum
    Seems like neustar is still telling the world that hwr.us doesn't have nameservers? See bolded, I'd contact them and tell them to hire you so you can fix it.

    << edit >>
    For reference, here is what a working us domain looks like:
    Code:
    [[email protected]]# host -ld awk.us
    ;; res_nmkquery(QUERY, awk.us, IN, NS)
    ;; res_send()
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 27180
    ;; flags: rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    ;;      awk.us, type = NS, class = IN
    ;; Querying server (# 1) address = 127.0.0.1
    ;; new DG socket
    ;; got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 27180
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 2
    ;;      awk.us, type = NS, class = IN
    awk.us.                 1h56m1s IN NS   NS.BULKREGISTER.COM.
    awk.us.                 1h56m1s IN NS   NS2.BULKREGISTER.COM.
    NS.BULKREGISTER.COM.    1d23h56m1s IN A  216.147.43.234
    NS2.BULKREGISTER.COM.   1d23h56m1s IN A  216.147.1.164
    rcode = 0 (Success), ancount=2
    Found 1 addresses for NS.BULKREGISTER.COM
    Found 1 addresses for NS2.BULKREGISTER.COM
    << another edit >>
    This is what an unregistered domain looks like, strikingly similar to hwr.us:
    Code:
    [[email protected]]# host -ld bladhfsdf.us
    ;; res_nmkquery(QUERY, bladhfsdf.us, IN, NS)
    ;; res_send()
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 29774
    ;; flags: rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    ;;      bladhfsdf.us, type = NS, class = IN
    ;; Querying server (# 1) address = 127.0.0.1
    ;; new DG socket
    ;; got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 29774
    ;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 1
    ;;      bladhfsdf.us, type = NS, class = IN
    us.                     1D IN SOA       a.gtld.biz. dnssupport.neustar.us. (
                                            2002086315      ; serial
                                            15M             ; refresh
                                            15M             ; retry
                                            1W              ; expiry
                                            1D )            ; minimum
    I'd definitely say they need your services. Did they tell you when you can start yet?
    Last edited by ScottD; 07-12-2002 at 02:29 PM.
    <!-- boo! -->

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    283
    DizixCom:

    That's what I said.

    Allan, I know you know whois and dns are unrelated.

    You may have paid for a domain but they aren't putting it into the .us zone.

    As to the whois entry for ns1.everydns.net it's bogus -- made up. It has nothing to do with us. (we use dotster, not tucows)

    -davidu
    EveryDNS.NET :: FreeDNS and more.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,067
    That's what I said.
    Er, yeah, I just did it the long way rather unnecessarily.
    <!-- boo! -->

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Leesburg, VA
    Posts
    3,205
    Originally posted by DavidU

    You may have paid for a domain but they aren't putting it into the .us zone.

    Yup, that's it...I didn't even think that it wouldn't have been in the database . They really do need my help...sheesh .

    Thanks guys...I knew it was something simple, and if I had someone else look at it, it would be obvious.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Leesburg, VA
    Posts
    3,205
    I e-mailed neustar and cc'd both the guy I resell through and the registrar. Neustar replied with this:

    Hwr.us does show up in whois.us. It takes up to 24 hours for a name to show up in whois.us.
    Which is just wrong .

    The registrar (Innerwise) replied with:

    Allan, we are working on the issue. There does seem to be some
    synchronization with the nameservers in the .us registry. I will reply back as soon as it's straightened out.
    I'll let you know how it goes .

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    283
    Hwr.us does show up in whois.us. It takes up to 24 hours for a name to show up in whois.us.
    I assume they meant DNS....

    And what is super weird about that is EVERY other registrar tends to have domains show up in DNS _BEFORE_ whois.

    -davidu
    EveryDNS.NET :: FreeDNS and more.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,029
    Originally posted by DavidU


    I assume they meant DNS....

    And what is super weird about that is EVERY other registrar tends to have domains show up in DNS _BEFORE_ whois.

    -davidu
    I think they mean WHOIS, because .us domains should start working within minutes of registration, and also, I've seen even .com domains show up in the WHOIS before DNS.
    ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Leesburg, VA
    Posts
    3,205
    It looks like Innerwise fixed it, and it is now responding. this is my first .us domain, can someone tell me if this is an ongoing problem, or is it only between Innerwise and .us?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,067
    I have a few .us domains and I've had no trouble with them, registered through BulkRegister and Enom. Interestingly, a few of them did seem to be available just minutes after registering.
    <!-- boo! -->

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •