need host for artists site

I am very new to web hosting and am looking for the right direction. I have been researching hosts for several weeks and am totally lost....

I am looking to create a site (shared) to be able to sell my artwork...paintings,etc...where customers can purchase them online securely. I am willing to use a 3rd party (paypay) for now, but may want to upgrade my site for secured purchases (ssl certificates) with a shopping cart.

I have had free sites before, but don't really know alot of html, just the super basics, will need a hoster who provides a sitebuilder to get me started.

I don't have a customer base right now and there will be very little traffic for now, but will need to support jpegs of my artwork. Am hoping that traffic will increase over time, so will be needing a hoster that will let me upgrade.

I am not looking for a reseller account.

I am looking for the price range of up to $15/month, preferrably free setup. I will also need to purchase my domain name from the hoster.

Any and all opinions and/or help will be greatly appreciated...especially any referrals to dependable web hosting.

Thanx so much in advance....

Lisa

Oh, by the way, i think I will need windows operating system hosting...I know it will be a little more.

Thanx.

First of all I would suggest registering the domain with a registrar that's not hosting your site. I would suggest NameCheap. I do all my business through them.

I also do the same thing as you but also provide coding.
    I started with 500 MB space and 5 GB bandwidth and that was perfect for my needs.

It should be very easy to find. Also why will you need windows?
    Last edited by john90; 03-31-2007 at 02:48 PM.

Lisa,

Head off to the shared hosting setion and use the search button with the keyword "windows hosting"

After you scan thru the host. Do a search in the whole forums using the host name.

The shared offering host url can be found here: