hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : Windows 2003 + 2 IPs
Reply

Forum Jump

Windows 2003 + 2 IPs

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19

Windows 2003 + 2 IPs


Hi,

Can I configure windows 2003 to use multiple IPs?? Is it necessary to have a separate ethernet connection for each IP?? Loopback, does it help?? What about Linux??



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 578
Quote:
Can I configure windows 2003 to use multiple IPs??
Yes of course. Click "Advanced" > "Add" in the NICs TCP/IP properties.

Quote:
Is it necessary to have a separate ethernet connection for each IP??
No. See above.

__________________
Regards, Sam. www.protecweb.co.uk
Windows Shared and Reseller Hosting with ASP.Net, MS SQL 2008, PHP, MySQL5 and more.
Providing quality web hosting and support since 2001.

  #3  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
thnx for the hint.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
is it possible for the others to see my second IP instead of my primary one?? I want to seed a file from my server using the 2nd IP instead of the 1st one...is it possible?? if so, how can I do that??

thnx in advance,

P.S. I have only 1 Ethernet port, and I do not have physical access to the server..

  #5  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Helmond
Posts: 40
If the file is downloaded from a website, then you bind the (sub)domain to that IP adress in IIS. (also works for FTP)

__________________
Planpro Hosting
Windows Shared & Reseller Hosting - VPS - Dedicated -
Colocation - Payment solutions - Domain Registration
---------------------------------------------------------------------

  #6  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
no i am trying to seed a torrent file....

  #7  
Old
******* Unleaded
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,829
I don't know torrents at all, but, the torrent service needs to bind to the specific ip. If it is written like many apps, it will just open a connection and bind to 0.0.0.0, resulting in winsock using the primary ip as the source ip. The only way you can use a secondary ip is if the application specifically has a setting to bind to a specific ip.

__________________
edgedirector.com
managed dns global failover and load balance (gslb)
exactstate.com
uptime report for webhostingtalk.com

  #8  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
thnx...u mean something like this http://i10.tinypic.com/4pev31k.png ??

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Microsoft Surpasses Amazon as Largest Windows Hosting Company: Netcraft Web Hosting News 2014-02-27 17:05:44
JaguarPC Listing 2013-12-11 23:26:58
Microsoft Releases Major Updates of Windows Server, System Center, Intune Web Hosting News 2013-10-18 16:08:17
Expired SSL Certificate Brings Down Windows Azure Cloud Web Hosting News 2013-02-25 10:38:00
Windows Azure Processes 4.7 Billion Authentication Requests Weekly Web Hosting News 2012-11-27 17:21:03


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?