hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : Nameservers Still Propagating After 72 Hours?
Reply

Forum Jump

Nameservers Still Propagating After 72 Hours?

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2007, 02:34 PM
P11Deuce P11Deuce is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32

Nameservers Still Propagating After 72 Hours?


Hey guys,

Its been roughly 72 hours since I updated my nameservers within my godaddy domain control panel. I currently have a dedicated server with godaddy along with my domain and I can't seem to find out why the nameservers haven't propagated yet. I need to solve this issue either today or at the latest tomorrow, I will supply you guys with whatever you need to get it fixed (screenshots, etc.)

Domain: www.pcexposure.com
Server IP (1): 208.109.234.183
Server IP (2): 208.109.234.206
Namesever (1): ns1.pcexposure.com [208.109.234.183]
Nameserver (2): n2.pcexposure.com [208.109.234.183]

Thanks in advance!



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-22-2007, 02:38 PM
Coolraul Coolraul is offline
Community Liaison
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,941
That IP doesn't respond.

208.109.234.183

It needs to be up and active to respond to queries for your domain.

You can always check here: http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsre...pcexposure.com

__________________
Can't we all just get along

  #3  
Old 02-22-2007, 02:42 PM
P11Deuce P11Deuce is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
so is it still propagating, or is another issue present?

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 02-22-2007, 08:08 PM
Tailseh Tailseh is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 687
Its a problem. If the server isn't working, it won't do DNS requests. Make sure the DNS server is running (no clue what it is with godaddy's control panel)

__________________
Hello

  #5  
Old 02-22-2007, 08:14 PM
P11Deuce P11Deuce is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Alright, here are two screenshots from within my godaddy simple control panel.

1st picture: main menu
2nd picture: DNS menu

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y48/p11/Picture2-1.png
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y48/p11/Picture1-3.png

  #6  
Old 02-22-2007, 09:27 PM
plumsauce plumsauce is offline
******* Unleaded
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,825
You are being told that if you can't ping the ip, how can it possibly respond to dns request? Check that first.

__________________
edgedirector.com
managed dns global failover and load balance (gslb)
exactstate.com
uptime report for webhostingtalk.com

  #7  
Old 02-22-2007, 09:46 PM
P11Deuce P11Deuce is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
It says, no response to (Ping #1, #2, #3, #4)

  #8  
Old 02-22-2007, 11:02 PM
Tailseh Tailseh is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 687
If there isn't a firewall blocking ICMP requests, you have a bit of a problem.

Are you sure its the right IP?

__________________
Hello

  #9  
Old 02-22-2007, 11:03 PM
P11Deuce P11Deuce is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
yes, those two are the correct IP's

  #10  
Old 02-23-2007, 12:09 AM
bwrob bwrob is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 122
I have same problem with godaddy nameserver
propagating.
I also had a ton of problems with godaddy domain redirecting.
I gave up and use my own dns server to do it.
Their tech. support just do not seem to get it.


Last edited by bwrob; 02-23-2007 at 12:13 AM.
  #11  
Old 02-23-2007, 07:27 AM
Jame$ Jame$ is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,672
Godaddy is usually very quick with propagation though. Propagation beyond 72 hours never happened to me before.

  #12  
Old 02-23-2007, 01:06 PM
P11Deuce P11Deuce is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
I can't seem to find out the problem, I did however find this:

When you setup your server do you select DNS (self-hosted) or (vendor hosted)?

  #13  
Old 02-26-2007, 04:44 AM
craigmack craigmack is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 14
that would be self hosted if your running the nameserver on your own server, when you were supplied the ips did you add them to your server? Is this problem resloved?

  #14  
Old 02-26-2007, 04:46 AM
craigmack craigmack is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 14
looking at your screen shot in your control panel is an icon that says ip addresses are those 2 ips located in there?

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Microsoft Exchange Online Outage of Over 8 Hours Frustrates Customers Web Hosting News 2014-06-25 11:23:55
Namecheap DDoS Attack Impacts Free DNS and Default v2 Nameservers Web Hosting News 2014-02-21 11:43:51
Three Tips to Reduce Meetings, Work Hours, and Be as Productive as Ever Blog 2013-11-01 15:18:39
MidPhase Launches Line of Managed Cloud Servers Web Hosting News 2013-05-15 13:47:19
Average Public Cloud Outage Downtime Nears 8 Hours: RightScale Infographic Blog 2013-02-28 13:09:16


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?