Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 102
  1. #1

    Your first computer?

    Do you remember your first desktop system?

    Putting aside the Commodore VIC-20, my first desktop, if I remember it correctly, was a 486DX that had a big "Turbo" button in the front. Toggling the "Turbo" button instantly increased the clock speed from 33MHz to 66MHz or vice versa. It was hilarious playing old games and watch them speed up/slow down. (Sorry couldn't find a picture)

    What's the min post requirements for accessing PM feature btw (yes, I'm a newbie)?
      0 Not allowed!

  2. #2
    My first PC was a 486 DX2, it worked on 100 MHz, i remember having a turbo button, with out turbo, pc worked on a lower frequency, i think it was 20 MHz, not sure about that.

    Initial OS was MD DOS, then installed Windows 95. When i was using this pc i was almost unaware of internet, so never used it for internet.
      0 Not allowed!

  3. #3
    laughster, you will be able to send PM only after you have certain number of posts.

    NB: I forget to tell, my first PC was assembled by me. At the time i was working in computer hardware, Dream PC was a 386 :-)
    Last edited by WebHostingNeeds; 01-25-2007 at 03:31 AM.
      0 Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Yeah, MS-DOS...

    My evolution was like MS-DOS > Win 3.1 > Win 3.11 > Win 95 > ...
      0 Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    13,277
    MY 1st computer was a TI 99/4a

    Was OK i guess,then i got my Commodore64 which i love like crazy!!!!!!

    Then after awhile i got my PC





    Tinyurl is the answer for posting long urls!!!
      0 Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,729
    My first was an Aquarius:

    http://www.intellivisionlives.com/bl.../aquarius.html

    After that, I moved to a Commodore 64.

    After that came a 286 with a 40meg hard drive...lol
      0 Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    State of Disbelief
    Posts
    22,951
    Quote Originally Posted by laughster
    What's the min post requirements for accessing PM feature btw (yes, I'm a newbie)?
    From the rules, it's 5 non-spammy posts to utilize the PM feature.
    Having problems, or maybe questions about WHT? Head over to the help desk!
      0 Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    13,277
    Welcome to WHT laughster





    Tinyurl is the answer for posting long urls!!!
      0 Not allowed!

  9. #9
    osbourne1

    http://oldcomputers.net/osborne.html

    classic!!!!
      0 Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    123
    First PC was a 286 Viglen PC with a grey scale monitor and big ol 5 1/4" drives

    Also used the zx80a peek and poke programming almost like web design
      0 Not allowed!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Posts
    2,617
    yup as above, a 286 except it was a home build. Then i went over to a 386, 486 and then, cripes, an intel 75mhz.

    The sad thing is i still have all of them
      0 Not allowed!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Top Secret
    Posts
    11,686
    Quote Originally Posted by need2backup
    I remember those!
    My first was this beast. No drives (floppy or otherwise), had to program the thing using BASIC (before it became ms-basic and q-basic and all that crap) and save everything to tape to run it again.
    WHMCS Guru - WHMCS addons, management, support and more.
    WHMCS Notifications Extended - Add slack, hipchat, SMS, pushover to WHMCS !!
    Always looking for Linux, WHMCS, Support Desk work. PM for details
      0 Not allowed!

  13. #13
    yeah a crappy comaq presario or whatever they were called. Hated it, coz it has win me
      0 Not allowed!

  14. #14
    Im not too sure the make of my first ever pc but i remember it had roughly 3 gig and 64 mb of ram =S.
      0 Not allowed!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3
    The first PC I ever remember using was an old Commodore. Good old black screen, green text, and only had a typewriting application. The first real PC was an old old 486 with Win3.1, and we had dialup for the first time in NC.
      0 Not allowed!

  16. #16
    Compare to all PC's above , my first PC is "new" enough

    Cleron 400 Mhz with 64 Mb of RAM and 20 gig of HD it cost about $ 250
    of course that;s win 98 inside
      0 Not allowed!

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Posts
    2,617
    you lot are making me feel very old with your talk of win98 and ME.

    My first PC ran OS/2. I remember being very chuffed when i started running windows 3.11. 26 disks with the full version if i remember
      0 Not allowed!

  18. #18
    My first computer was Pentium IV i have bought it one year ago.
      0 Not allowed!

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Posts
    2,617
    yup, i'm old.
      0 Not allowed!

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    240
    My first PC still works...

    I'm not to sure what it's running nowa days but IT'S BIG AND HEAVY... when I find time to install those block vga cards to connect the monitor in i'll re-post.

    Heres a thing >> No windows, it's all through an SSH type method, I've only ever used it for those mad oldschool pixel games... my parents owned it before that

    First PC i bought with my own money was a Semperon 2600 with 512mb ram and an 80gb hdd about 2-3 years ago

    Since then i've done too much with computers and had 2 since then and now looking into the next gen PC as I actually understand every parts position and not just buying labelled products lol...
    Your reading skill has increased by one point!
    computers are cool now OK!
      0 Not allowed!

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Posts
    2,617
    my new pc has more memory on the front side bus than my first pc had as storage!
      0 Not allowed!

  22. #22
    First computer for me was a TI-994/a and then moved up to the C-64, which I still have and still works with printer and disk drive. In fact I have over 150 floppies and they still load.

    I've been trying to get the disk drive hooked up to my laptop to transfer to an emulator.
      0 Not allowed!

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3
    I have the original 200MB (yes megabyte) hard drive that was in my PC, as well as the 5 1/4" floppy drive (I wish new computers could use it, I have some old floppy based games I would love to delve back into).
      0 Not allowed!

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,403
    If my remember is not wrong. My first PC when I was 16 years-old was:

    x386 100MHz
    32MB Memory
    2GB IDE HDD
    1/4" floppy drive
    6MB Video Card
    Windows 95

    Tommy Tran - tommy @ vinax.net ::: VINAX, LLC ::: http://vinax.net ::: Since 2004
    Premium Dedicated Servers and Colocation in downtown Chicago (350 E. Cermak Rd)
    Premium Bandwidth, 100% Network & Power Uptime SLA, 24/7 Prompt Tech Support
      0 Not allowed!

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Posts
    2,617
    Quote Originally Posted by WhiteMoose
    I have the original 200MB (yes megabyte) hard drive that was in my PC, as well as the 5 1/4" floppy drive (I wish new computers could use it, I have some old floppy based games I would love to delve back into).
    wow, 5 1/4", that takes me back

    set off before you go out and it was loaded by the time you got back in
      0 Not allowed!

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    289

    retro'er than thou.

    My first pc was a Compaq.. not sure what model, 66MHz 486 Intel SX (without math co-pro), 200MB HD & 4MB of RAM.. with DOS 6.22 and Windows 3.11...

    I remember playing populous II, savage empire & commander keen.. God knows what age I was then..
      0 Not allowed!

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,025
    http://www.old-computers.com/museum/...asp?st=1&c=286

    Mine had a 3 1/4 and a 5 1/2 drive. Good old dos!
    Matt Armour
    OpenReaction
      0 Not allowed!

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,104
    My first PC when I was 14 years-old was:

    x286 100MHz
    16MB Memory
    150 MB IDE HDD
    1/4" floppy drive
    I don't remember Video Card size or existence?
    Windows 3.1
    Low Cost Storage VPS plans at webprovps.com
    VPS Price Match Guarantee on: All our range of DDOS protected XEN HVM VPS
    == Contact us for any online solution development or managed / unmanaged vps hosting ==
      0 Not allowed!

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    501
    My first desktop...oh the days.

    Macintosh LC .

    I ran a Hermes BBS system off my parents phone line when I was 12 years old. The good ol' days of BBS's and FIDONET ahhhhhh
      0 Not allowed!

  30. #30

    First PC in Office

    I remember the day my new "techey" boss told me to stop messing about with Windows as it would never catch on in the commercial world. Menu driven DOS progs were the future!!!!
      0 Not allowed!

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Posts
    2,617
    Quote Originally Posted by dotty
    I remember the day my new "techey" boss told me to stop messing about with Windows as it would never catch on in the commercial world. Menu driven DOS progs were the future!!!!

    i think it was something like 'nobody will want to use that mouse contraption' from my boss
      0 Not allowed!

  32. #32

    Smile

    The first PC I used was a 486 DX2 with 100 MHz frequency and 32 MB RAM, OS Windows 95. I was started my life as a computer programmer using this pc. It was BASIC and then C..
    ComfortHost.NET Web Hosting Solutions
    Shared, Reseller, VPS, and Dedicated Solutions
    Blazing Fast Servers, 24/7 Live Chat & Ticket Support
      0 Not allowed!

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cardiff, United Kingdom
    Posts
    15
    My first PC was a 386, 12mb RAM and 120mb hard disk, 3 1/2 inch disk, and Windows 3.11 for workgroups. Oh how I miss that..
    http://kwigibo.co.uk | Application development and hosting for the real world..
    99.9% Uptime, PHP5/MySQL5 | Programs in PHP, Java, C++, HTML w/ CSS | VPS with any linux, 64mb-256mb
      0 Not allowed!

  34. #34
    my baby was a celeron500 with 256mb ram and running linux :p
    I missed it very much coz new tech is not stable and powerful for me
    Buy now and pay by eGold.
      0 Not allowed!

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    35
    286 ... I think around 13 mhz? wow that was a long time ago.
      0 Not allowed!

  36. #36
    A Pentium 3 with 600Mhz CPU and 64MB RAM
      0 Not allowed!

  37. #37
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Manhattan
    Posts
    24
    Timex Sinclair 1000. Learning BASIC when I was 7.
      0 Not allowed!

  38. #38
    Hi,well
    MY first working experience is...
    Processor speed 100MHz + black and white monitor + Dos & windows 95 Os on 1997 MAy...
    But My first Own desk top confi..
    Intel P III 800Mhz + 64MB RAM +20GB Harddisk +color monitor (all are HP brand) +windows 98 os on 2001 sep
    But till now I use same Pc But I upgrade My RAM as 512MB RAM + 30 GB Harddisk Now I use Multimedia keyboard..
    Regards
      0 Not allowed!

  39. #39
    my first computer was pentium 486. i think it was 300 mhz,
    my dad got back in 1992.it cost him 11000 riyal.close to $3000
      0 Not allowed!

  40. #40
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,078
    My First PC

    Intel Celeron 900mhz
    64MB RAM
    6GB HDD
    256kb Graphics

    HP beauty Windows 95


    I now own:

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+
    4096MB RAM
    3X250GB SataII HDD
    Nvidia Geforce 8800GTX
    Windows Vista Ultimate
    Last edited by keywolf; 02-14-2007 at 05:17 PM.
      0 Not allowed!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •