* Is VPS suitable for ms sql 2005 express edition?

hi, i'm newbie here and i've spend few days searching for this answer. Is VPS with 256MB RAM suitable for web application with ms sql 2005 express? The hosting company that i want to engage with, say that VPS is not suitable for ms sql 2005 and recommend me to take vps package with 512 RAM (USD 87 per month) or even better dedicated (USD 120 per month) , which are far more expensive that the vps package with 256 RAM (USD51 per month) that i orgininal plan.

For the web application usage, i would forsee 2-3 staff who wil extensively used the web application while probably other 10 - 30 ppl online currently.

I hope to seek for your advice. Thanks.

Hi miloseeker,

A VPS with 256mb ram with IIS (or Apache) and SQL express will work just fine. It totally depends on what you run next to that though, but if those are your two main applications, 256mb would be sufficient.

Note: if you also use a control panel, such as Plesk or Helm, you're going to need more than 256mb ram. In that case 384mb would be the minimum.

I think he is talking about Windows hosting - aka Microsoft SQL 2005 Express. Not the Linux version of MySQL.

Just posting to clarify
    DefSolutions
    Got Solution?

Yeah I'm aware of that, that's also why I mentioned IIS and Helm (which are both applications that only run on Windows)

Woopsie! *Just saw the Apache! the IIS was well hidden! Guess im a bit

DefSolutions
    Got Solution?

Quote Originally Posted by Apoc
    Hi miloseeker,

A VPS with 256mb ram with IIS (or Apache) and SQL express will work just fine. It totally depends on what you run next to that though, but if those are your two main applications, 256mb would be sufficient.

Note: if you also use a control panel, such as Plesk or Helm, you're going to need more than 256mb ram. In that case 384mb would be the minimum.