Question How to explain bandwidth to a noob?

Let me explain further. We're redesigning our site and thought we'd explain a few simple terms (bandwidth being one of them). I've contacted a few people who know little to nothing about computers or the Internet as test subjects and we can't seem to get past this one term.

As a web host, how would you explain bandwidth to a complete noob? When I say noob, I mean someone who has a hard time finding his/her desktop. I've tried my hardest to explain it and they either get confused or have more questions.

Are you trying to explain bandwidth or data transfer? We, as professionals, often (mistakenly) use the two terms interchangeably, but if you're looking for good analogies, the two are really different things. So let's make sure you're trying to define the right thing. I was going to give you a garden hose/fire hose analogy, but this would be for bandwidth, not data transfer.

So which one would you like?
    Studio1337___̴ı̴̴̡̡̡ ̡͌l̡̡̡ ̡͌l̡*̡̡ ̴̡ı̴̴̡ ̡̡͡|̲̲̲͡͡͡ ̲▫̲͡ ̲̲̲͡͡π̲̲͡͡ ̲̲͡▫̲̲͡͡ ̲|̡̡̡ ̡ ̴̡ı̴̡̡ ̡͌l̡̡̡̡.__Web Design

I think that maybe where I get them confussed...

What I'm trying to explain is account "X" has X MB diskspace & X amount of Bandwidth. I'm trying to explain the bandwidth part in more detail (so a noob could explain it).

What you are describing is actually the data transfer and not bandwidth. Imagine the bandwidth as a hose pipe, the bigger it is the faster (more) water can get through. The water would be the data.

With bandwidth you would measure it in Mbit/second or Gbit/second. e.g. 10Mbit connection
    With data transfer you can use your MB or GB per month. e.g. 10GB transfer per month
    Steve

You are falsely labeling data transfer as bandwidth hence why you are confused.

To continue on the difference. Bandwidth would be like a fire house vs a garden hose and transfer would be the total amount of units of water transferred. Transfer is a function of bandwidth and time.