Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1

    Help with SCSI raid 0

    Hello, currently my home comp is using a WD 7200 rpm drive, im thinking of upgrading it to raid 0 10k rpm drives, here are the drives newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16822116006 and this is the raid card, newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16816118050 and then i was looking into cables for a scsi drive but i know nothing about them, my friend showed me these cables he found provantage.com/cables-go-09476~7CBTE01N.htm but it says there scsi3 now does this matter? what is scsi 3 and can it be used for these raid cards and hdd, the cables i was lookin at newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16812193019 are 30 bucks each, now do i need to buy 2 of these for my raid 0 or what? any suggestions on what are the best scsi cables for me and best transfer rate? links would be great too.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA.
    Posts
    1,622
    Neither of those cables are what you want.

    The Adaptec cable is designed to go from a motherboard to a SCSI backplane.
    (or a single terminated device).

    Get something like:

    such as:
    http://www.provantage.com/startech-s...t~7STRT092.htm

    Assuming by "drives" you meant your system is going to have a total of 2 drives.

    You basically need a SCSI cable which has enough connectors for the number of drives you'll want in your system.

    If you wanted 4 total drives... you'd need:
    http://www.provantage.com/tripp-lite...i~7TRPA156.htm
    (or something similar) instead.

    ===

    Also, that's a fairly expensive RAID card... for a system which is only going to have 2 drives? and doing RAID 0 (drive concatenation).

    What's the purpose of this machine?
    Last edited by Lightwave; 01-20-2007 at 06:29 PM.

  3. #3
    yes, drives as in number of hard drives, now the first link says its 150mb/s transfer, and i found these provantage.com/cables-go-27061~7CBTE02E.htm which are 320mb/s do you think this would be the ideal cable for what im getting? since its ment to be for 2 drives?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA.
    Posts
    1,622
    I have no idea why the one I listed which it calls itself a U320 device... only says it's rated for 150Mbps.

    The cable you list in your second post will work fine.

    Their site isn't the greatest at accuracy... It should be listed as 320MBps anyways... As there's a rather large difference in 320Mbps and 320MBps.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA.
    Posts
    1,622
    I'm still a bit curious as to why you're buying that beefy of a RAID card...
    2 drives which your going to concatenate together and what you expect.

    With RAID0... if one drive fails... your going to loose all the data on both drives.

    Even though you're buying U320 drives and cables... don't expect two drives to beable to push out that much.

    On average with that setup... your going to get about
    50-90MB/s sequential reads...
    Avg about 75MB/s
    Burst about 237MB/s

    which is great... just don't think that U320 means your going to be pushing in/out 320MBps.


    If size isn't as important... http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822116001
    is a better drive for performance.

  6. #6
    i was thinking of getting this raid card, newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16816118026 but my friend said id never use that much throughput, its gonna be for my gaming rig ^^, i was gonna get 15k rpm drives with that 640mb/s raid card but he said id never use it all and to get 10k rpm drives and 320 raid card. do you think i wouldnt notice a difference between 10k and 15k rpm drives on running extreme load games like battlefield 2 and battlefield 2142, currently when i had a 5400 rpm drive it took atleast 8 minutes to load a map, then with 7200 it takes about 2 minutes, so im wondering how much of a difference will i notice between a 10k and a 15k rpm drive? if any?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA.
    Posts
    1,622
    The last link isn't a U640 controller... it's just a U320 controller with 3 channels. (2 internal, 1 external). Again, one single drive isn't going to push out 320MB/s... the entire controller channel has a max throughput of 320MB/s.

    Your friend is definitely correct about the RAID cards...
    but, you should definitely notice a difference in performance switching to 15k rpm drives.

    ---

    That all said,
    For my own money... I'd stick with a 2/4 port SATA controller, and SATA drives.

  8. #8
    ok so the 320 is the max it can go, not the default speed, i understand, and if i wanted to get the 15k rpm it would cost me an extra $800 bucks, which is another 2 paychecks lol, so do u think its worth it to get 15k rpms?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    1,211
    I would definitely go with a sata raid to save money, and probably power as well. However, being that this would be a gaming rig, you will have to find a rig with both pci-e and pci-x for a decent graphics card and a decent raid card.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA.
    Posts
    1,622
    An extra 800 bucks?

    2 * 36.7GB 15k rpm for $156 ea = $312
    or
    2 * 74GB 10k rpm for $148 ea. = $296

    Even if you bought 4 of the 36.7k GB drives for the same total size... it'd still only be $312 more.

    ---

    Fwiw, your PCI 64bit/66MHz bus maxxes at 533MB/s

  11. #11
    well untill i have the money, this is gonna be on my older board and rig, im gonna be building a new 1 soon, so i have to use pci, i have a amd athlon xp 3200+ 400fsb, with a 680w PSU, 3 gb corsair ram, ddr2 pc3200, and a gforce 6800gt 256mb gddr3 1ghz, so i figured the only thing i can really upgrade is my hd and get some 10k or 15k rpm drives, and when i have the money to build my new comp, ill just take the new hd i bought and format em for that system and put my old drives back into my old comp.

  12. #12
    my games i play are over 5gb rach, so after i have like 4 games installed, im almost max out in space, so i was thinking of getting 74 or 150gb drives, i have over 20 games i enjoy playing and i dont want to be limited to about 5

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA.
    Posts
    1,622
    RAID0 is a stripe... It's AID not RAID.
    so 4 36.7GB drives is almost the same as 2 76GB drives...

    You'd end up with the same size partition in the end.

  14. #14
    which do you think id see better gaming performance from what type of raid? 1 or 0 or maybe 10? which do you think is the best for gaming rig setup

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •