Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    41

    cPanel and cronjobs

    Hi,
    I am not a very good server admin and know enough to get in to trouble...LOL

    I have a problem with not being able to create a cronjob on one of my sites in cpanel.
    I create the cronjob but it does not show and I am sure that it is not working.

    Is there somewhere that I can turn this on?
    I have looked everywhere in the WHM and cant seem to find anything?


    Greg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    3,795
    You should be able to see it in the cron menu for that account via Cpanel. Alternatively, you can manually put it in via ssh using the 'crontab -e' command.
    AYKsolutions.com - High Bandwidth Specialists - 100TB/1Gbps/10Gbps Unmetered/CDN/DDOS Protected
    Over 20 Global Locations - Asia, Mexico, Brazil, India, Australia, US, CA, EU - Bare Metal and Virtual Cloud. All Managed.
    View our current Specials.
    We are Professional. Painless. Polite.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    I am air u breathe
    Posts
    229

    *

    Is it that the cron jobs are not working or you mean to say that they are not displayed on the job list ?

    for not displayed, I suppose should be trouble with the cpanel and may be you can update the theme and confirm things or you can run an upcp.

    If crons are not running at all then make sure you have the crond service active and later as mentioned earlier you can check for crons via shell.

    and it is cool to add stuff directly

    Al
    It is reliability that counts...
    Few tips

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    2,965
    Quote Originally Posted by Nice_Dude
    Hi,
    I am not a very good server admin and know enough to get in to trouble...LOL

    I have a problem with not being able to create a cronjob on one of my sites in cpanel.
    I create the cronjob but it does not show and I am sure that it is not working.

    Is there somewhere that I can turn this on?
    I have looked everywhere in the WHM and cant seem to find anything?


    Greg
    simple, just execute "rm -rf cpanel" and use SSH.

    *ducks to avoid pro-control panelists* lol.

    On a serious note, DO NOT EXECUTE that command, probably wont work since I dont believe there is a cpanel folder in the root.


    perform the following commands, one at a time...
    Code:
    chmod 4755 /usr/bin/crontab
    chmod 1777 /var/spool/cron
    AND restart crond

    After restarting, then make the cronjob in your cpanel account
    Last edited by HNLV; 01-19-2007 at 05:13 AM.
    Email: info ///at/// honelive.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    2,965
    Quote Originally Posted by albatross.smart
    and it is cool to add stuff directly
    I know right!!! When is the world gonna learn control panels handicap your more than make something easy, but I always get the crap from people "OOOOO, you are wrong, control panels make my life easier, it makes tasks automated, blah bla bla bla blah..."
    Email: info ///at/// honelive.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    I am air u breathe
    Posts
    229
    Dont forget to have a restart of the cron service. It helps

    And yes, Anantha, I agree with you. Control panels are making us lazy... now even we want to get the most complex things done in one click..

    Pro's and con's always go in hand.. !!

    Al
    It is reliability that counts...
    Few tips

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    2,965
    I hear ya

    Ah yes, I edited the post accordingly
    Email: info ///at/// honelive.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    I am air u breathe
    Posts
    229
    Yes you heard it

    Al
    It is reliability that counts...
    Few tips

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by Anantha
    simple, just execute "rm -rf cpanel" and use SSH.

    *ducks to avoid pro-control panelists* lol.
    I ran this command and now cPanel is gone?

    Did I do something wrong?

    How do I get it back?

    Maybe I should not have done that one?





  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by
    perform the following commands, one at a time...
    Code:
    chmod 4755 /usr/bin/crontab
    chmod 1777 /var/spool/cron
    AND restart crond

    After restarting, then make the cronjob in your cpanel account

    Everything is working Great!

    A Big "Thanks" to Anantha, and to everyone else who had some input!



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •