Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1

    I feel on top of the world right now.

    A client who was trying to move a pretty large DB (400+mb) to another server was not able to do so because of ongoing corruption issues. After trying three guys I was given the oppurtunity and finally got it!

    w00t!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    816

  3. #3
    Thanks. :p

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    222
    Champ !

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Matrix
    Posts
    2,469
    well done mate!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    UK, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    149
    well done dude

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    rules.php
    Posts
    725
    Congrats!
    www.DefyStudios.com ___Interactive Design
    Icq:307-407-835 DefyStudios | Shift | INDNJC

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,025
    Go large database movin' guy you!!

    I am starting to agree that posts in this forum should not count...can't figure out why...
    Matt Armour
    OpenReaction

  9. #9
    Yeah, I don't mind them disabling post count in this forum. I don't care to have posts counts at all, but meh some have a seniority complex and that's how it starts.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    1,203
    Quote Originally Posted by OpenReaction
    Go large database movin' guy you!!
    I couldn't have said it better myself
    Automated Tendencies - Brand Management Agency from Baltimore, Maryland.
    Reputation Management Search Engine Optimization Pay Per Click Email Marketing

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,904
    Da'Gum. Your the best GD DB mover in town


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    chica go go
    Posts
    11,858
    how long did it take you?

  13. #13
    2.5 minutes if that.

    1. Turn off vbulletin
    2. SSH up to the server
    3. mysqldump --opt -Q -u Username -p DatabaseName > db.sql
    4. Enter Password
    5. ftp other_machine_address
    6. put db.sql
    7. Close, Quit
    8. SSH up to the new server
    9. mysql -u USERNAME -p NEWDBNAME < db.sql

    I dont know why three other people had problems, but helping this guy out made em feel good that's for sure.

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by esb740
    2.5 minutes if that.

    1. Turn off vbulletin
    2. SSH up to the server
    3. mysqldump --opt -Q -u Username -p DatabaseName > db.sql
    4. Enter Password
    5. ftp other_machine_address
    6. put db.sql
    7. Close, Quit
    8. SSH up to the new server
    9. mysql -u USERNAME -p NEWDBNAME < db.sql

    I dont know why three other people had problems, but helping this guy out made em feel good that's for sure.
    probably because the answer to the problem was just too simple for them to actually try out...can't see any other way to do it though
    Caro.Net: Support is everything
    Offering High Quality Dedicated Servers.

  15. #15
    I'm pretty sure no one was turning vbulletin off. Hence it being corrupted (Updating whlie they were trying to backup).

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    chica go go
    Posts
    11,858
    Quote Originally Posted by esb740
    2.5 minutes if that.

    1. Turn off vbulletin
    2. SSH up to the server
    3. mysqldump --opt -Q -u Username -p DatabaseName > db.sql
    4. Enter Password
    5. ftp other_machine_address
    6. put db.sql
    7. Close, Quit
    8. SSH up to the new server
    9. mysql -u USERNAME -p NEWDBNAME < db.sql

    I dont know why three other people had problems, but helping this guy out made em feel good that's for sure.
    I think you could have saved some time if you piped directly via the web using the mysql command line program and curl.

  17. #17
    I think 2.5 minutes is sufficiant enough.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    State of Disbelief
    Posts
    22,953
    *POP* goes the bubble of happiness....geez...

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Matrix
    Posts
    2,469
    Quote Originally Posted by esb740
    2.5 minutes if that.

    1. Turn off vbulletin
    2. SSH up to the server
    3. mysqldump --opt -Q -u Username -p DatabaseName > db.sql
    4. Enter Password
    5. ftp other_machine_address
    6. put db.sql
    7. Close, Quit
    8. SSH up to the new server
    9. mysql -u USERNAME -p NEWDBNAME < db.sql

    I dont know why three other people had problems, but helping this guy out made em feel good that's for sure.
    Man, its pain to move 400mb database on busy server because when you try to produce dump of 400mb database on busy server many times it pushes server loads to crazy levels. I myself being very well experienced system admin have experienced this many times. One time while I was try to produce dump for >700mb database, once because it was pushing server loads to crazy levels (yes it was busy server), I have to announce schedule maintenance to produce dump for that database because I was moving client to faster scsi based server and currently it was on old EIDE server.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Lansing, MI, USA
    Posts
    1,548
    Quote Originally Posted by mahinder
    Man, its pain to move 400mb database on busy server because when you try to produce dump of 400mb database on busy server many times it pushes server loads to crazy levels. I myself being very well experienced system admin have experienced this many times. One time while I was try to produce dump for >700mb database, once because it was pushing server loads to crazy levels (yes it was busy server), I have to announce schedule maintenance to produce dump for that database because I was moving client to faster scsi based server and currently it was on old EIDE server.
    heh... as long as the old server has an older mysql version...

    Code:
    /etc/init.d/mysql stop
    mv /var/lib/mysql/db_name /var/
    /etc/init.d/mysql start
    scp -r /var/db_name [email protected]:.
    /etc/init.d/mysql stop
    mv /var/db_name /var/lib/mysql/
    /etc/init.d/mysql start
    on the other server, shut off mysql, move the dir in to the dir, and start it back up.

    Of course, this assumes root access to both... Probably the most minimial impact way to do it for both machines though.
    Jacob - WebOnce Technologies - 30 Day 100% Satisfaction Guarantee - Over 5 Years Going Strong!
    Website Hosting, PHP4&5, RoR, MySQL 5.0, Reseller Hosting, Development, and Designs
    Powered By JAM - Professional Website Development - PHP, MySQL, JavaScript, AJAX - Projects Small & Large

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •