Thread: Non-Cpanel VPS?

Non-Cpanel VPS?

I'm looking for a non-managed, non-control-panel VPS ... I will need root access, several IPs (with the ability to add more if I need), MySQL, apache2, and php5. 256 Megs RAM minimum, several gigs of storage, good reliability is a must ...

CentOS 4.4 is preferred, but not req'd.

Who's a good provider for this kind of service? All I can seem to find are hosts that are still in the stone ages -- php4, apache1.3, and CPANEL! CPANEL! CPANEL! (Which, as a linux admin, I loathe...)

What is your working budget for a simple VPS like this?

I'm not sure what market rate is, but $30 is about what I can afford. I can eat rice and beans one extra night a week and go up a bit...

I really only have two clients at this point, but it's growing. This hosting would be for my subversion repository + Trac, and my two web clients... I'm just tired of having the clients' shared hosting servers down or otherwise FUBAR'd.

'Cept for reverse DNS entries for mail, I'm pretty much a 0-maintenance client. I've been a server admin for so long that I can set up a new vhost (including BIND records) blindfolded and with both hands behind my back.

Quote Originally Posted by karlkatzke
    I've been a server admin for so long that I can set up a new vhost (including BIND records) blindfolded and with both hands behind my back.
    So you type with your nose? How many WPM?

http://vpslink.com/vps-hosting/ Unmanaged. No hosting CP. Wide variety of Linux distros available for you to choose from. A good, basic VPS control panel which includes DNS hosting outside your VPS, so you don't need to run Bind.

Kinda slow. It's literally hunt and peck. Luckily VIM doesn't require too many key combos.

Not running BIND is nice. Thanks!

Hello,

Have a look at futurehosting.biz/vps.htm fast setup time.

Mike

Quote Originally Posted by karlkatzke