Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: VPS memory

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,728

    VPS memory

    I am not overtly familiar with VPS, however I have one at the moment from powervps and since it was deployed 24 hours ago the memory useage has been at 80%+ constantly, never any lower than 83%

    Powervps advise that its probably cpanel and I should shut down all the components I am not using, but I am thinking, hold on! Its just deployed, no customers, no tweaking nothing yet but I need to start shutting down parts of cpanel to reduce the memory useage?!

    Sounsd funny to me, anyone experienced similiar? Its a 512MB VPS which is also burtstable so I cant understand how it can be using all the memory already.

    I cant see any hogs running:

    11298 root 16 0 30136 18m 724 S 0 0.4 0:01.60 clamd
    9811 mysql 15 0 104m 14m 3080 S 0 0.4 0:00.09 mysqld
    11773 root 15 0 17508 9112 1676 S 0 0.2 0:00.15 cpsrvd-ssl
    5290 root 16 0 9724 7980 1056 S 0 0.2 0:00.18 chkservd
    11794 root 34 19 9528 6844 1560 S 0 0.2 0:00.05 cpanellogd
    11881 mailman 16 0 10060 6756 2612 S 0 0.2 0:00.10 python2.4
    11880 mailman 15 0 10044 6712 2612 S 0 0.2 0:00.10 python2.4
    11877 mailman 16 0 10060 6696 2612 S 0 0.2 0:00.09 python2.4
    11878 mailman 15 0 10036 6696 2612 S 0 0.2 0:00.09 python2.4
    11876 mailman 15 0 10060 6688 2612 S 0 0.2 0:00.09 python2.4
    11879 mailman 16 0 10096 6688 2612 S 0 0.2 0:00.09 python2.4
    11882 mailman 16 0 10060 6684 2612 S 0 0.2 0:00.09 python2.4
    11883 mailman 16 0 10060 6684 2612 S 0 0.2 0:00.08 python2.4
    11652 mailnull 16 0 7716 5264 1532 S 0 0.1 0:00.01 eximstats
    11343 root 16 0 6764 5088 1044 S 0 0.1 0:00.13 lfd
    11831 mailman 17 0 10272 4924 840 S 0 0.1 0:00.00 mailmanctl
    11793 root 15 0 6860 4760 716 S 0 0.1 0:00.00 cpbandwd

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Amsterdam/Rotterdam, NL
    Posts
    2,085
    On a 512mb RAM VPS you indeed shouldn't have to stop any services to reduce RAM usage, cPanel (with all default services) even runs fine on a 256mb ram VPS.

    I think that you might be looking at the total amount of RAM in the (host) server that's being used, that's a mistake that many customers tend to make. Could you post the output of these two commands:

    Code:
    free
    and

    Code:
    cat /proc/user_beancounters
    Based on that we should be able to see what's going on.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,728
    Thats what I thought intially, the problem is that its Cpanel and WHM reporting 80%+ users will just complain when they see that in their panel!


    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 4140992 4101364 39628 0 18380 650448
    -/+ buffers/cache: 3432536 708456
    Swap: 8385888 1656120 6729768


    and


    uid resource held maxheld barrier limit failcnt
    5193: kmemsize 5936333 6020300 48873472 73310208 0
    lockedpages 0 0 14744 16384 0
    privvmpages 73244 74091 471860 524288 0
    shmpages 731 731 524288 524288 0
    dummy 0 0 0 0 0
    numproc 77 78 500 500 0
    physpages 30914 31132 0 2147483647 0
    vmguarpages 0 0 131072 2147483647 0
    oomguarpages 30914 31132 131072 2147483647 0
    numtcpsock 30 30 500 500 0
    numflock 13 14 800 880 0
    numpty 1 1 255 255 0
    numsiginfo 0 1 2048 2048 0
    tcpsndbuf 281736 281736 21463040 41943040 0
    tcprcvbuf 491520 491520 21463040 41943040 0
    othersockbuf 24596 24596 6012928 16252928 0
    dgramrcvbuf 0 0 943720 1048576 0
    numothersock 28 29 500 500 0
    dcachesize 0 0 33554432 34537472 0
    numfile 2987 3019 52428 52428 0
    dummy 0 0 0 0 0
    dummy 0 0 0 0 0
    dummy 0 0 0 0 0
    numiptent 226 226 15360 15360 0

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Amsterdam/Rotterdam, NL
    Posts
    2,085
    Yeah the number you are looking at is the amount of RAM that the host server has available. I don't think your clients have a reason to complain about that, since it won't caused any trouble really.

    The amount of RAM your VPS really is using is around 120mb, which is perfectly alright.

    You could ask them to enable the SLM functionality for your VPS, in which case they can make your VPS show the actual usage. There's a good chance they won't allow that though, as it really depends on the host's setup as to whether or not SLM functionality is useful.

    We do use it on most of our servers, here's an example:

    Code:
    bash-3.00# free
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:       1048576     137920     910656          0          0          0
    -/+ buffers/cache:     137920     910656
    Swap:            0          0          0
    The host machine has 8GB RAM, but SLM makes it show 1GB (as that's the burstable amount of RAM that each VPS gets).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    I had a similiar situation. When i had a plesk 512mb ram dedicated server that had 80% memory usage. When i restarted it went down to less 40%. But it came back up. I just left it alone and it caused me no problems. I would suggest you just leave it alone. I didn't see any problems with mine.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Amsterdam/Rotterdam, NL
    Posts
    2,085
    Quote Originally Posted by mohamoud
    I had a similiar situation. When i had a plesk 512mb ram dedicated server that had 80% memory usage. When i restarted it went down to less 40%. But it came back up. I just left it alone and it caused me no problems. I would suggest you just leave it alone. I didn't see any problems with mine.
    That sounds like a completely different problem to me, because if you reboot your VPS, the host's memory usage wouldn't go down by 40%.

    In this case, wisenerl was looking at the amount of RAM in the host server that is being used, which isn't the amount of RAM that his VPS is using.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,728
    Yup, it clicked after a while! The 80% is referring to the host server not the VPS, I have 3 dedicated and this is the first VPS, my understanding of the way VPS works is limited at this time hence I could not understand it.

    Powervps were not so great at explaining this first off but we got there, thanks Apoc.

    They are enabling SLM for me.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Amsterdam/Rotterdam, NL
    Posts
    2,085
    That's what these forums are for

    No problem, glad the problem was worked out

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •