hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : Memory limit on shared hosting
Reply

Forum Jump

Memory limit on shared hosting

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 192

Memory limit on shared hosting


Hello.
I have read topic where memory limit was discussing. I didn't attach importance to that. I want to ask you about your experience with memory limit on shared hosting package.
Thanks.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: East Coast // NYC
Posts: 1,693
Well its more than about memory limit. Most hosts really watch for the CPU usage, because thats the biggest disturbance for other customers.

  #3  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRadic
Well its more than about memory limit. Most hosts really watch for the CPU usage, because thats the biggest disturbance for other customers.
Yeap I have heard about that. But how do they manage count that?

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 280
As I have heard there are some programs installed on the server for counting CPU usage.

  #5  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 192
What are they? I'm interested how does it work?

  #6  
Old
.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: East Coast // NYC
Posts: 1,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTempster
What are they? I'm interested how does it work?
Well on Windows Server 2003 / Longhorn Server every site runs in its own process, and there is built in functionality to track or even limit sites to how much CPU usage it can use.

  #7  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: West Lafayette, IN
Posts: 15
A lot of hosts simply use the cpu/memory status in WHM (if they are a cpanel host), though there are a number of 'scoreboard' like softwares that can be put in place. The only one I know off the top of my head is a perl module called Apache:coreboard. Most of these target a specific type of memory usage (mysql, http, etc). Shell access an also have memory limitations so running things like fcgi processes can conflict there.

__________________
http://thekiwiproject.com

  #8  
Old
Web Hosting Rockstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 3,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekiwiproject
A lot of hosts simply use the cpu/memory status in WHM (if they are a cpanel host), though there are a number of 'scoreboard' like softwares that can be put in place. The only one I know off the top of my head is a perl module called Apache:coreboard. Most of these target a specific type of memory usage (mysql, http, etc). Shell access an also have memory limitations so running things like fcgi processes can conflict there.
.... and those stats are highly inaccurate.

__________________
Simpli Networks, LLC - Proudly owned since 1995!
Offering DCaaS, IaaS, EaaS, CaaS & VoIP Solutions for any-sized business.
New Jersey | Arizona | Colorado | Ohio | Singapore | United Kingdom
Got Questions? +1 (844) 4SIMPLI or sales[@]simplinetworks.com.

  #9  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: West Lafayette, IN
Posts: 15
Quote:
.... and those stats are highly inaccurate.
Painfully so in fact, however this is still a common metric. If you want to know for sure it is always best to ask your host what they use specifically.

__________________
http://thekiwiproject.com

  #10  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ethelbert, MB, Canada
Posts: 65
Most hosts I know invoke phpSuExec/SuExec which shows the processor and memory utilization of a specific username, and go by that. But, as previously explained, the numbers aren't always correct, and can cause unnecessary head-aches if the host doesn't know _exactly_ what he or she are looking at

__________________
Christian A. Herrnboeck (sales@montecarlohosting.net)
MonteCarloHosting :: Advanced, Web 2.0, Business Class Hosting Solutions
Shared, Reseller, Cloud, and Dedicated Solutions
Backed by the World's Most Advanced Systems

  #11  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonteCarloHosting
Most hosts I know invoke phpSuExec/SuExec which shows the processor and memory utilization of a specific username, and go by that. But, as previously explained, the numbers aren't always correct, and can cause unnecessary head-aches if the host doesn't know _exactly_ what he or she are looking at
Agreed, however, the numbers are HIGHLY accurate, as they are generated by the Kernel.(proc)

  #12  
Old
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 428
The most accurate system out there is standard unix process accounting. The problem is, it is done on a per user basis, so it generaly doesn't include the apache user time in its totals.

In general, Most hosts use instantanious data more than they use any actual time based recording. So they will often give the boot to whoever is killing the server at the time that there is a problem, as opposed to watching cpu/mem use over time.

__________________
Rock solid hosting and dedicated servers since 1998!
StabilityHosting Where stability and uptime are king!

  #13  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ethelbert, MB, Canada
Posts: 65
I should have explained myself better, karl. I've seen some hosts go bananas because they monitor top, which shows a PHP process using 68% CPU at the moment. Like vantage says, you need to go over a greater period of time

Regards,
Christian

__________________
Christian A. Herrnboeck (sales@montecarlohosting.net)
MonteCarloHosting :: Advanced, Web 2.0, Business Class Hosting Solutions
Shared, Reseller, Cloud, and Dedicated Solutions
Backed by the World's Most Advanced Systems

  #14  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonteCarloHosting
I should have explained myself better, karl. I've seen some hosts go bananas because they monitor top, which shows a PHP process using 68% CPU at the moment. Like vantage says, you need to go over a greater period of time

Regards,
Christian
I agree 100%.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
BGP Routing Table Size Limit Blamed for Tuesday’s Website Outages Web Hosting News 2014-08-13 10:36:33
Irish Web Host Blacknight Launches IPv6-Enabled Shared Hosting Platform Web Hosting News 2014-07-17 14:00:54
Canadian Web Hosting Improves SSD Caching for Shared Hosting Servers Web Hosting News 2013-09-04 13:47:24
CloudLinux Releases New Inode Limits Feature for cPanel Web Hosting News 2013-08-28 16:38:27
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - March 28, 2013 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:43:13


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?