Linux: Remote Administration

I'm thinking about putting a server in a colo where the Datacenter is a 4 hour drive.

My question is: "Do Linux machines running LAMP hang / freeze often so that you cannot force a reboot remotely ?" - "Does it even happen on Linux boxes?"

I have a lot of experience with Windows machines but none with Linux. With a Windows machine I for sure would have to purchase a DRAC/LILO board.

Unfortunately, I don't have any production experience with Linux so I don't know the risk of having to go on site because Linux decided to completely freeze making remote management impossible. Of course this is not included any hardware outages.

Many thanks !

North Hollywood, CA
    Quote Originally Posted by endymon
    My question is: "Do Linux machines running LAMP hang / freeze often so that you cannot force a reboot remotely ?" - "Does it even happen on Linux boxes?"

As so remote administration theres telnet/ssh CLi, or VNC GUI or CLi and a bunch of others.

If the box kernel paniced a reboot is in order. Finding the true caused might be a task (bad mem, HD, bad compile, box is warm etc etc.)

Some colo's offer a remote reboot port that shuts the power off at the port then in a few seconds gives the power back. If you configure the bios correct it should come back online.
    Remote Hands and Your Local Tech for the Los Angeles area.

(310) 573-8050 - LinkedIn

Lake Arrowhead, CA
    The short answer is simply no. If system lockups are a week to week or even month to month issue, then the system in question is either built on an inherently unstable hardware platform or is not running 'production quality' software.