Moderately High Traffic Wordpress Hosting Solution Needed

Hey everyone,

I currently run a TV shows review Wordpress blog that hosts a lot of images - about 1GB total and growing daily (dunno if it makes a difference, but each post has about 300KB worth). The site gets around 20-25,000 uniques a day, goes through about 300GB bandwidth a month, gets about 30-100 comments per post, and is apparently eating up all the CPU time on my current Dreamhost shared account. I've been using the wp-cache plugin, and have played with turning off and on my plugins, but this hasn't helped much I'm not very experienced at technical stuff pertaining to web hosting, so I was wondering what my best options are for a monthly budget that can't exceed $100.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Well, you really have a couple of choices:

Choice #1: Get a VPS
    Choice #2: Get a Dedicated Server
    Choice #3: See if any hosts can meet your needs, just e-mail them and ask...

But with all 3 choices you're most likely going to end up paying more than you currently are. Expect to pay at least $30+, maybe even up to $80 if you want a real solution. We're talking per month, not yearly.
    Last edited by MrRadic; 01-05-2007 at 05:14 PM.

Crucial Web Host is offline [email protected]
    There are hosts that offer semi dedicated services, where you can be put on a capable machine with perhaps one or two other hosts. This allows for a small sharing of resources but still provides for all security/updates/installs/backups so you dont have to concern yourself with that.

Managed solutions are available with many hosts, however most are just managed dedicated servers. What you likely need is just an optimized environment for WP and image serving - Try to access live chat on just about any of the larger hosts - im sure they can accomodate something similar for you.

Kindly,
    CrucialHosting.com - Performance Hosting Solutions: