Options for media server?

Hi all,

I'm starting a project relatively soon that will bring in thousands of people for particular video files (it's a series). I've tried to go over possible options of how to deal with the load and cost, but I'm not coming up with many solutions.

As far as hosting goes, Amazon S3 is about the slickest option there is, but it's pretty expensive @ .20cents per GB of bandwidth. No VPS/Dedicated servers I know of will allow cost effective bandwidth scaling (the two I did find were crap hosts)... Bittorrent is also an option to take the first wave of people, but seeding is the biggest pain in the world and 99% of people cut the file off after it's done downloading (so it'd have to be mixed with something else).

Cost is the second thing. I'm a coder primarily and havn't worked with sponsors or CPM deals at all, yet. The people are there, gauranteed, but the target audience is very niche and I'm guessing it would be more difficult to go about getting ad/sponsor deals for this. (I realize this is a hosting forum, but I'm sure plenty here are experts in this area so I'll just throw it out there).

Ty for the help & guidance.

Well I'd recommend you project exactly how much bandwidth and disk space you need, then start discussing options one on one with a host. You'll really have to do something custom.

I would get a dedicated server or VPS with a fixed 10mbit connection unmetered and seed via bittorrent if you have a /ton/ of traffic. Otherwise, the same server with a tuned apache could serve out the files effectively. What you're going to have to watch out for are people with leech apps that will attempt to open EVERY file at once. You can add a 3rd party mod to apache to limit the number of connections per ip, but i'd still recommend bittorrent.
    Matt Bloom
    AngryHosting - Load balanced/redundant shared hosting solutions

Quote Originally Posted by Skew
    Hi all,