Question changing A Records? (Godaddy.com)

Hi,

Sorry if this question has been answered before. I tried using the search tool, but it seems there's hundreds of posts that wasn't able to help me. So here it goes,

I have a domain in Godaddy.com. I have 2 servers and here's the setup I want to have, 1 linux box dedicated for the emails of mydomain.com and 1 windows box for all other except the emails. Just wanna make sure that even the windows box is down, at least the emails are going to or vice versa so I seperated those boxes.

Now my problems is I'm really new to this kind of thing (web, domain, dns, etc) and I don't know how to do this kind of setup. I'm confused if I should do it in the CP of Godaddy.com or in any of the servers. I noticed in Godaddy.com there's a portion of Total DNS Control, but it's just for the domains hosted or parked in Godaddy.com. Hope you guys can help me out. Thanks.

Regards,
    Sherwin

Ok, this is what you need to know, I explained a similar situation a few posts ago, but ur case is slightly different.

I was in your exact situation a few years ago and this is what I did. So follow the steps below,

1) Point the nameservers (NS1 and NS2) to your REGISTRAR's DNS servers, in yourcase godaddy's default nameservers.

2) Change the domain's A record (IP address) by typing the IP address of the server, in your case window's server's ip address.

3) Change the domain's MX records (mx records look something like this, mx.yourdomain.com) to the Linux server's mail server, which allows you to utilize your linux server for mail. Make sure the priority number is the highest (you'll see what I mean when you actually perform the mx record changes).

I performed ALL the above operations from the REGISTRAR's control panel, your case use godaddy's TOTAL DNS.