Lightbulb Need Inputs to Put Together a Web Business

I am new to this aspect of webhosting and I am very enlighten of how diff prod. are put together to make a web business. Yet I am a real estate entreprenuer with above average tech knowledge of the common world. I know how to do basic hard coding, but that's not my agenda or in my plans. I like to put things/people together in real estate.

** I'm looking for ideas, suggestions, and comments **

start a real estate investor web hosting company and real estate forum, then mortgage web host service.

assemble the most effecient and cost effective software and service

I've started with (amazing softwares), then into these forums.
    I've read to learn of what the basics of cpanel is.
    Read about free hosting service, pros and cons

-- a lot of darn reading, and I believe I'm just scratching the surface of things.

** I'm not expecting to become an expert, but I want to how to put things toghether such as softwares, programs,... all of the elements w/o being a hardcore tech.

Of all the products and software avail and offered, can someone tell me what is what to run a real estate web hosting business?

--i know this sounds obscenely long, yet almost every software in here or provider says they're the best. As you can tell, this can get confusing.

--you guys can do this in your sleep, but i don't know how to fish yet, teach how to fish.

where to go, what to put together, what brand/provider/sw provider is effective, functional and real, not part of a scam.

**ie: i see these co. advertise $xxx for a forum, yet on cPanel it is offered free to install one.
    --what is good? what is?

**Spyware n Virus, etc.
    --can I be pointed to a location/article to be hack safe or hack preventative?

**Fantastico Typical List--- what do you recommend??

pMachine Free

Content Management
    Mambo Open Source

Customer Relationship
    Crafty Syntax Live Help
    Help Center Live
    PHP Support Tickets