How much tech knowledge is required?

I'm thinking about starting a host. I don't want to risk too much so I'm gonna start as a reseller.

I'm only in High School but I'm willing to commit to it. I'm not going to do this only for the cash. The main thing I'm looking to get out of it is is the experience of running a business, general knowledge about servers and to learn how to deal w/ people.

Basically I'm an intermediate webmaster. I've run multiple websites before and know how to design, advertise, ect. I know how to install CGI scripts, upload stuff, ect. but that is pretty much it.

If I got a reseller plan at MCHost or SplashHost, could I make it? I'm not talking about becoming huge, but maybe get couple dozen accounts by the time I leave high school.

As a reseller you won't be dealing with server issues directly. So yes a reseller account is great for you to start with. Also setup a linux system at your house to learn linux.

o btw I spent a couple hours today browsing all the posts this year in WHT's "How to Run a Hosting Biz". I definitely didn't read all of them (over a thousand) but I did read the important ones very carefully.

I already know some basic knowledge about the reseller biz, so I won't the mistakes of blowing all my money on a host directory or having a 20GB plan for $8.

Basically I'm an intermediate webmaster. I've run multiple websites before and know how to design, advertise, ect. I know how to install CGI scripts, upload stuff, ect. but that is pretty much it.
    Then you'll probably be able to answer most support mails.

I say: If you're willing to make some sacrifices and stay dedicated to the support of your customers, go for it. Before you go live, take some time off to learn how to use the control panel your customers will be using. It's quite important that you learn this. Some (really) strange questions will eventually come your way, and therefore you'll have to be prepared to learn along the way.