My name is Steven Alexander and I am a computer programmer living in Australia. For over 4 years I have been working on a sophisticated software distribution and copy-protection system called Distrotech.com.

Distrotech.com is a highly innovative service for securing and selling windows software products via a trial version model. Distrotech makes it very easy for software developers as they can just upload their software and the server automatically injects the copy protection/activation/registration technology into the application file. It is automatically distributed to a world market. Linux/OSX compatibility is possibility for the future.

The copy protection in Distrotech is very strong. Distrotech evolved out of my early experiments with copy protection and it is an inherent part of the whole system, not a tacked on afterthought. It uses many completely novel techniques, one of which is that the copy protection is reapplied in a unique way every time the software is downloaded from the Distrotech.com server. This makes patching extremely difficult. It would take many pages to explain the full details of the copy protection but it is completely novel and has strong stand-alone potential. I would be most happy to provide more details on request.

The system is built around Distrotech's dynamic download technology. Distrotech has access to the products binary executable file on the server and every time a product is downloaded, the product's installation package is rebuilt. During this process the latest copy protection and publisher configuration are applied, and any affiliate tracking IDs are inserted into the program executable. It also enables a lot of other very cool features that just aren't possible with any other system. For example it would be very easy to automatically insert an affiliates logo into the products trial version splash screen.