Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Exclamation

Hello,

I'm a new RAQ user at 4WebSpace (Tera-Byte), and have found lots of useful tips on this forum, and hope to be able to help others as I learn more. I posted this message on the 4webspace forum, but thought I'd be able to get more feedback by reposting here, as there are a lot of Tera-Byte RAQ users here, it seems.

I've been trying to create a "Perfect Template DNS" for all my virtual domains on a RAQ (I'm just getting started with a dedicated server). After some experimentation, I've setup the DNS as follows, using Tera-Byte's DNS Control Panel, and would appreciate comments on any disadvantages to what I've done:

I've replaced the real domain name with "mydomain.com" throughout, and the IP with 10.0.0.2, so that it is generic:

On the Tera-bye DNS Admin, I now have the following:

mydomain.com has an IP of 10.0.0.2
    mail for mydomain.com is delivered to mydomain.com with a preference of 5

www has an IP of 10.0.0.2
    mail for www is delivered to mydomain.com with a preference of 5

ftp is an alias for mydomain.com
    mail is an alias for mydomain.com
    pop is an alias for mydomain.com
    smtp is an alias for mydomain.com
    Non-matching DNS requests are not forwarded

In other words, mydomain.com and www.mydomain.com have A records pointing to the IP used for the www.mydomain.com virtual site in the RAQ. BOTH their MX records are set to deliver to mydomain.com. ftp, mail, pop and smtp hostnames are all set to be CNAME records, aliasing mydomain.com.

Using Sam Spade's tools (www.samspade.org), I also did a Zone Transfer of the domain, and the record is:

-------------- start zone -----------------------
    Zone transfer mydomain.com@ns1.tera-byte.com (216.234.161.11) ...
    Query for mydomain.com type=252 class=1
    mydomain.com SOA (Zone of Authority)
    Primary NS: ns1.tera-byte.com
    Responsible person: hostmaster@tera-byte.com
    serial:2001020804
    refresh:3600s (60 minutes)