Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    69

    It is necessary to modify nameservers to go on a dedicated?

    My site is currently on a shared hosting (let's call it hosting#1), but I would like to put it on a server (with a new company, hosting#2).

    I would like to keep the domain name to hosting#1 (only to avoid problems/time losses due to the transfer).. but hosting#1 just told me that I can't modify nameservers; all I can do is modify A, CNAME, MX records.

    Is this a problem?
    Will I need to transfer the domain name to hosting#2? That would be great because I have a great opinion about hosting#2, but I'm worried about the time it will take to transfer it; my website will be down all this time.
    ''I wouldn’t mind going to jail if I had three cellmates who played bridge.'' (Warren Buffett)

  2. #2
    Hi:

    If you're leaving host1 for good and no longer wish to pay them for any services, then likely they won't care to take care of your domain on their nameservers anymore. If you still have business with host1, then they should change/modify your record at your request.

    If you are going to leave host1 for good, I would suggest changing your nameservers at your registrar to host2, and better yet if you are well versed in DNS, I would edit at your registrar to become authoritative for your own domain. (though making NS1 and NS2 on your dedicated server will violate some RFC, but still work).

    The choice is yours. Good luck.
    Caro.Net: Support is everything
    Offering High Quality Dedicated Servers.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    69
    Thank you, but the problem is that Hosting#1 is also my registrar, and he doesn't allow me to modify nameservers!
    ''I wouldn’t mind going to jail if I had three cellmates who played bridge.'' (Warren Buffett)

  4. #4
    That doesn't sound right. If you paid for your own domain, then a registrar transfer is in order. They should not deny you this option. You should be able request that your domain be transferred to another registrar. Does your WHOIS record reflect you in any of the contact areas?
    Caro.Net: Support is everything
    Offering High Quality Dedicated Servers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    69
    Sorry, my english is poor and I explained bad my situation.
    I'll try to describe it better:


    My current registrar/hoster (hosting#1) allows me to transfer the domain to the new registrar/hoster (hosting#2), but I am worried because I know that transfer a domain to a registrar from another registrar may take several days.. in the meanwhile my site will be offline.
    So I would prefere to simply change the hosting, but keep the domain at hosting#1.
    The problem is that hosting#1 told me that they don't allow me to modify nameservers.
    However, they do allow me to modify A, CNAME and MX records.



    Thank you very much for your help and sorry again if I was not clear.
    ''I wouldn’t mind going to jail if I had three cellmates who played bridge.'' (Warren Buffett)

  6. #6
    Its probably my fault for not reading all of it properly....

    Best I can say right now is that transfer times between registrars and NS records have been far better lately than they have been in the past. You never know though and you're right it could take longer.

    Would they let you add two more nameservers to your record? Total of 4, two with them and two elsewhere? (I know no NS changes, seems wrong though)


    Other than that, I would move the site, having them edit the A, CNAME, MX, as necessary to point to host2, then work on the transfer thereafter.

    I would expect them to work with you a little more on this. Seems they are creating a problem they shouldn't. hrugs:
    Caro.Net: Support is everything
    Offering High Quality Dedicated Servers.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    69
    Quote Originally Posted by CaroNetAdmin
    Best I can say right now is that transfer times between registrars and NS records have been far better lately than they have been in the past.
    This is not my problem, because hosting#1 doens't allows me to change nameservers.

    Quote Originally Posted by CaroNetAdmin
    Would they let you add two more nameservers to your record? Total of 4, two with them and two elsewhere? (I know no NS changes, seems wrong though)
    I really don't think, but I will ask them.

    Quote Originally Posted by CaroNetAdmin
    Other than that, I would move the site, having them edit the A, CNAME, MX, as necessary to point to host2, then work on the transfer thereafter.
    Will my website be on hosting#2, if hosting#1 A CNAME and MX point ot hosting#2? Sorry, I know almost nothing about this stuff, this is the first time I transfer my website.

    Quote Originally Posted by CaroNetAdmin
    I would expect them to work with you a little more on this.
    They are really, really slow.. each ticket gets reply after around 20 hours!
    ''I wouldn’t mind going to jail if I had three cellmates who played bridge.'' (Warren Buffett)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    587
    If your hosting on #1 is still active and not ready for renewal for the next few days, the best choice is this:
    1 - transfer the domain name
    2 - while waiting for the transfer, get your new hosting set up
    3 - after the transfer is done, change the nameservers to your new host
    4 - 24 hours later, cancel your old host

    If you have a few days of hosting left at host1, this method will give you no down time.
    Mike
    cPanel/WHM scripts at Premier Website Solutions (all your website needs)
    Support young figure skaters in training. juniorskaters.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,163
    Contrary to common belief, your site will not be down while the transfer is in progress, however you should do the following to ensure no downtime:

    - Make sure the site is at host 2.
    - Change existing A / CNAME / MX records at host 1 to point to new server at host 2.
    - Start domain transfer & set new nameservers in advance.
    - Domain will transfer without downtime.

    Dan

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by RazorBlue - Dan
    - Start domain transfer & set new nameservers in advance.
    Woud like to add on this one, make sure when you set new nameservers, that A, MX and CNAME records are also set in the new nameservers.
    - Increase your imagination dramatically but still learning more knowledge.

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by ItBroker
    Thank you, but the problem is that Hosting#1 is also my registrar, and he doesn't allow me to modify nameservers!
    Can let us know this hoster name? I just dont want to get trouble in future.
    Pm me if you dont want to post on forum.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    69
    Quote Originally Posted by Nit3Crawl3r
    Can let us know this hoster name? I just dont want to get trouble in future.
    Pm me if you dont want to post on forum.
    Sure! PM sent.
    ''I wouldn’t mind going to jail if I had three cellmates who played bridge.'' (Warren Buffett)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Southwest UK
    Posts
    1,159
    If you don't want to get into this trouble in future the answer is simple - buy your domain and your hosting separately.
    Do not meddle in the affairs of Dragons, for you are crunchy and taste good.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    69
    Wise advice.
    ''I wouldn’t mind going to jail if I had three cellmates who played bridge.'' (Warren Buffett)

  15. #15
    Yup, its a very good advice!
    But normally when we signing with hosting, usually hosting will offer domain for free. So why not register with them? (Thats should be appear in our head that time) But after a year, more or less.
    When wanted to change hosting. Problem showing..

    This is not refering to all hosting, im sure not all hosting same. So far im happy with my hosting, almost 3 years already. But never experience having problem with domain when trying to move the hosting yet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •