Thread: Unix or Linux

Unix or Linux

What is easier to work with, unix or linux?

I am studying freebsd, but some things are not easy to understand for me. As a start, is linux less difficult to run?

As a start, is linux less difficult to run?
    Generally. But, unix isn't necessarily hard either. In fact, it may be easier in certain ways...the ports system is very nice in BSD...
    MediaLayer, LLC - www.medialayer.com Learn how we can make your website load faster, translating to better conversion rates for your business!
    The pioneers of optimized web hosting, featuring LiteSpeed Web Server & SSD Storage - Celebrating 10 Years in Business

I learned on bsd and thought it was much easier than linux.

I guess it's personal preference.

I belive if you strongly don't need UNIX then beter choice would be to go for Linux
    FC would be the best I think

Linux is just another Unix, there isnt a real difference. You seem to refer to BSD in particular, which is often considered as more stable than Linux.

There was already a similar topic at http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=165073 with the overall consensus that BSD is often the better choice.

In terms of simplicity I'd quote
    Quote Originally Posted by neonlexx
    FreeBSD config files are sooo much eaiser to edit then Linux, everything is in plain english and you don't have to mess with about 100 things to make one thing work right.

Due to RH EOL, we're switching all RH systems to FreeBSD.
    Sitemeer.com - Is your site up?
    Multi-Location Service Availability Check ● yes, we do HTTPS & IDN!

You seem to refer to BSD in particular, which is often considered as more stable than Linux.
    For the BSD installs that I've ran, I have actually noticed less performance than CentOs. To be honest, a CentOs box can be almost just as stable if managed correctly.