Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Reston, VA
    Posts
    3,132

    Cogent redundent circuits?

    So apparently my sales rep is telling me cogent will not give me a second circuit for a redundent line so in other words, no vrrp or hsrp nothing Unless! i purchase another 200mb contract with them.

    Anyone else ever have this problem?

    not even are they willing to do a port fee for the second gbic i'd take up.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Francisco/Hot Springs
    Posts
    988
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudstr
    So apparently my sales rep is telling me cogent will not give me a second circuit for a redundent line so in other words, no vrrp or hsrp nothing Unless! i purchase another 200mb contract with them.
    Sounds about right! My informants tell me this is becase the cogent billing system can't deal with multiple ports for the same BW commitment.

    Any reason you're not multihoming with another provider?
    AppliedOperations - Premium Service
    Bandwidth | Colocation | Hosting | Managed Services | Consulting
    www.appliedops.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Reston, VA
    Posts
    3,132
    Quote Originally Posted by appliedops
    Sounds about right! My informants tell me this is becase the cogent billing system can't deal with multiple ports for the same BW commitment.

    Any reason you're not multihoming with another provider?
    I am multihoming with another provider a wholesaler, whom I purchase level3/at&t/savvis/glbx through. I'm just looking for another line with both actully for a redundent setup going to have another 6509 comming in here shortly.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Francisco/Hot Springs
    Posts
    988
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudstr
    I'm just looking for another line with both actully for a redundent setup going to have another 6509 comming in here shortly.
    Ahh, ok, that makes a bit more sense.
    Well, maybe consider just splitting up your transit providers between your routers?
    If you're buying 6509's, paying for an extra 100Mbps to Cogent can't be that terrible can it?
    AppliedOperations - Premium Service
    Bandwidth | Colocation | Hosting | Managed Services | Consulting
    www.appliedops.net

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Reston, VA
    Posts
    3,132
    Quote Originally Posted by appliedops
    Ahh, ok, that makes a bit more sense.
    Well, maybe consider just splitting up your transit providers between your routers?
    If you're buying 6509's, paying for an extra 100Mbps to Cogent can't be that terrible can it?
    its the fact that cogent is treating the second line as a totaly different account and would be at the wodnerful 100Mbps rate of $15/mbps vs 10mbps on 200

    I mean i'm sure i could split up the transit and punt 200more mbps out the second cogent line but the idea is for failover why pay 2k more a month for bandwidth when its not needed?

    Sure cogent is decent for the price and i have customers who only want it and don't care for the quality but i'm just shocked that they are refusing to give me another port even if i had to pay a port fee i would but not another 200mbps commit.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Francisco/Hot Springs
    Posts
    988
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudstr
    Sure cogent is decent for the price and i have customers who only want it and don't care for the quality but i'm just shocked that they are refusing to give me another port even if i had to pay a port fee i would but not another 200mbps commit.
    Thats cogent for ya
    AppliedOperations - Premium Service
    Bandwidth | Colocation | Hosting | Managed Services | Consulting
    www.appliedops.net

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,889
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudstr
    its the fact that cogent is treating the second line as a totaly different account and would be at the wodnerful 100Mbps rate of $15/mbps vs 10mbps on 200

    I mean i'm sure i could split up the transit and punt 200more mbps out the second cogent line but the idea is for failover why pay 2k more a month for bandwidth when its not needed?

    Sure cogent is decent for the price and i have customers who only want it and don't care for the quality but i'm just shocked that they are refusing to give me another port even if i had to pay a port fee i would but not another 200mbps commit.
    You're paying those prices and expecting the same level of service as other carriers? They're able to charge less for a reason...
    Karl Zimmerman - Steadfast: Managed Dedicated Servers and Premium Colocation
    karl @ steadfast.net - Sales/Support: 312-602-2689
    Cloud Hosting, Managed Dedicated Servers, Chicago Colocation, and New Jersey Colocation
    Now Open in New Jersey! - Contact us for New Jersey colocation or dedicated servers

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New York / New Jersey
    Posts
    753
    COGENT Says: "NO AGGREGATED BILLING FOR YOU!"

    Its a fact of life, you get what you pay for.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,571
    Peer1 allowed us to aggregate two gig-e's in the past... but alas, their pricing is nowhere near that of Cogent -- Karl's statement rings true.
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,780

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    797
    multihoming is your answer

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Reston, VA
    Posts
    3,132

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    298
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudstr
    Thanks for the obvious as I already am. I'm talking about REDUNDENT connections on TWO difference peices of hardware for routing.

    ever thought about multihoming? hahah

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •