Is static ID essential for hosting

Hi,
    Im planning to host my personal website. Also i am planning to put some google add and other adds to my site and blog.

Is it essential that i should have a static ip in my system.

I am new to this web hosting and web development.

Please help me.
    Thanks,
    krush

Static IP's are not necessary for your personal site. The only reason you would really need to get a static IP is if you wanted an SSL Certificate.
    Need a new Web Host?
    Become a Host Refugee and receive TRUE 24/7 Support

cPanel + Fantastico, PHP4 or PHP5
    HostRefugee.com - See our current promotions

You can use a dynamic DNS system like dyndns.org. There are many of such services out there. Search for Dynamic DNS. You have to download and configure a Dynamic DNS client on your home machine.

Some services will allow you to redirect to a set homepage if your server is offline, or provide a backup e-mail server to hold your e-mails until your server comes back online to catch the e-mails, heck there are ven many free services out there.

Enjoy finding out which one works best for you ;-)
    __--- Nils Valentin ---
    ☆★☆ Speedtest One: Tokyo / Japan ☆★☆ / Feedback
    ☆★☆ Speedtest Two: Tokyo / Japan ☆★☆ / Feedback

Hi Krush

The quick and fast answer is: no. I am assuming you are hosting at a webhost and not at home. You don't need a dedicated IP to host your website. However if you are thinking of doing so at home, my suggestion is probably not to bother.
    Like us on Facebook to qualify for discounts!
    http://www.sprintserve.net
    Offering: | Internap FCP Bandwidth! | Rebootless Kernel Updates! | Magento Optimized Hosting | Wordpress Hosting |
    Services: | Managed Multiple Cores 64bit Servers | Server Management |

Update: I assumed we are talking about setting up a host at home.
    Thanks for sprintserve for bringing this little detail to my attention. I must have overseen it.