Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    69

    Website Outgrowing Bandwidth Allocation

    I run a website on a dedicated LAMP server just for fun and it's really close to outgrowing the bandwidth allocation I have with my host which is 2 TB per month.

    I get approximately 15K uniques a month and it's growing daily. The load on the server is incredibly low, so my only problem at the moment is bandwidth.

    I would like to know what my options are when a site outgrows a server or its bandwidth allocation. I know nothing about server clusters, but I imagine something like that would work in my case because its far cheaper for me just to rent another server with the same bandwidth allocation, then to double my bandwidth.

    Let's say I rent another server, how would I go about setting up a cluster to replicate. Can someone point me in the right direction, i'm obviously looking for the cheapest route since I don't even break even on the server costs as it is.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,549
    If you are unsure you may wish to find an admin to set it up for you just so it's done properly. Although I would say if you are confident enough then give it a go yourself.

    Look into setting up SSH keys and then rsyncing the content(generally your database + web), if your site(s) do not change often in terms of adding new sites then that would be the best option and the most simple to maintain.

    You can do simple methods such as round robin dns or have one server , use it for the majority of the month and then switch to the other for the later period. Alternativly if you want to go into full load balancing you can look into things like LVS however I would not recommend that it for such a simple setup.

    -Scott
    Server Management - AdminGeekZ.com
    Infrastructure Management, Web Application Performance, mySQL DBA. System Automation.
    WordPress/Magento Performance, Apache to Nginx Conversion, Varnish Implimentation, DDoS Protection, Custom Nginx Modules
    Check our wordpress varnish plugin. Contact us for quote: [email protected]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    785
    Quote Originally Posted by section31
    I get approximately 15K uniques a month and it's growing daily. The load on the server is incredibly low, so my only problem at the moment is bandwidth.
    Have you spoken with your provider about going to an un-metered option or upgrading your bandwidth quota? If your host is not working hard now and you do not *need* the additional resources it may not be worthwhile to go through the pain of a transfer to a new cluster or building one out and just upgrade the host your on now.

    You can also look at what data is being downloaded from your host the most and see if you are doing everything possible to compress it or providing methods that do not waste bandwidth while downloading them. Look at simple things like using mod_gzip and compressing all of the files before they are downloaded etc. For all you know it could be a couple files that are huge with lots of dead space that can be compressed down to a small percentage of their original size. You have excess CPU resources so put them to use packing files.

    Thanks,

    Jeremy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    69
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott.Mc
    If you are unsure you may wish to find an admin to set it up for you just so it's done properly. Although I would say if you are confident enough then give it a go yourself.

    Look into setting up SSH keys and then rsyncing the content(generally your database + web), if your site(s) do not change often in terms of adding new sites then that would be the best option and the most simple to maintain.

    You can do simple methods such as round robin dns or have one server , use it for the majority of the month and then switch to the other for the later period. Alternativly if you want to go into full load balancing you can look into things like LVS however I would not recommend that it for such a simple setup.

    -Scott
    Yeah, i thought about doing the rsync method but my content updates quite often, so it would definitely be inefficient. I guess i'll start reading up on LVS, I know its extremely complex to setup but I'm sure this is what I'll need to do eventually.

    Quote Originally Posted by LTADMIN
    You can also look at what data is being downloaded from your host the most and see if you are doing everything possible to compress it or providing methods that do not waste bandwidth while downloading them. Look at simple things like using mod_gzip and compressing all of the files before they are downloaded etc. For all you know it could be a couple files that are huge with lots of dead space that can be compressed down to a small percentage of their original size. You have excess CPU resources so put them to use packing files.

    Thanks,

    Jeremy
    yeah, i have mod deflate enabled and I don't allow hotlinking of my images so it's all legitimate usage .

    In case anyone is wondering, the site i'm referring to is -> http://gifdump.com/

  5. #5
    You should upgrade your bandwidth to unmetered or 3TB+,clusters would be bad solution for your site in my opinion,all you need is bandwidth,get two server in cluster is much expensive than one server with double bandwidth.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,345
    Quote Originally Posted by fitesun
    You should upgrade your bandwidth to unmetered or 3TB+,clusters would be bad solution for your site in my opinion,all you need is bandwidth,get two server in cluster is much expensive than one server with double bandwidth.
    Quote Originally Posted by section31
    ...cheaper for me just to rent another server with the same bandwidth allocation, then to double my bandwidth...
    Apparently its not more expensive. I know at places like SL getting an extra TB of bandwidth is around the same cost as getting anouther server entirely
    Seeksadmin.com Owner: Providing Security, Administration and Optimization since 2001

    Now Offering Windows Serivces.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by TR Seeks
    Apparently its not more expensive. I know at places like SL getting an extra TB of bandwidth is around the same cost as getting anouther server entirely
    Different from each DC,some DC provide cheaper bandwidth,then you can get 3TB+ at very low price.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,345
    Quote Originally Posted by fitesun
    Different from each DC,some DC provide cheaper bandwidth,then you can get 3TB+ at very low price.
    Quality or quantity? thats the question.

    To the OP: I do agree that you do not really need a loadbalancing solution and if you do go for it it wont be the easiest to setup if your content is always changing. I think the easiest thing would be to get more bandwidth. What Datacenter are you at?
    Seeksadmin.com Owner: Providing Security, Administration and Optimization since 2001

    Now Offering Windows Serivces.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    69
    Quote Originally Posted by TR Seeks
    Quality or quantity? thats the question.

    To the OP: I do agree that you do not really need a loadbalancing solution and if you do go for it it wont be the easiest to setup if your content is always changing. I think the easiest thing would be to get more bandwidth. What Datacenter are you at?
    My host is server4sale where i'm able to get a phenominal deal, they are just a reseller for layeredtech though.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,345
    I would talk to them especially Majeed as he is very helpful and they will be able to sort a deal out for you.
    Seeksadmin.com Owner: Providing Security, Administration and Optimization since 2001

    Now Offering Windows Serivces.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    69
    Quote Originally Posted by TR Seeks
    I would talk to them especially Majeed as he is very helpful and they will be able to sort a deal out for you.
    thats doubtful, they will probably refer me to their 100mbps unmetered option which runs in at around 2100$ a month.
    Last edited by section31; 12-07-2006 at 10:57 AM.

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by section31
    thats doubtful, they will probably refer me to their 100mbps unmetered option which runs in at around 2100$ a month.

    You should look at another provider can give you 20Mbps or 3TB bandwidth at 100Mbps port.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,601
    Looking at this the otherway is there anyway you could reduce the bandwidth usage such as putting on mod_gzip / mod_deflate to reduce the amount of data sent?
    Russ Foster - Industry Curmudgeon

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    69
    Quote Originally Posted by a2b2
    Looking at this the otherway is there anyway you could reduce the bandwidth usage such as putting on mod_gzip / mod_deflate to reduce the amount of data sent?
    Read a few posts up.

    Quote Originally Posted by fitesun

    You should look at another provider can give you 20Mbps or 3TB bandwidth at 100Mbps port.
    heh, i only pay 69$ for the current server i have with them.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,345
    Seriously talk to sales and make sure you ask to talk to either AJ or Majeed. They will sort something out for you.

    And there is no harm in trying... right?
    Seeksadmin.com Owner: Providing Security, Administration and Optimization since 2001

    Now Offering Windows Serivces.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,549
    The fee in another 1tb of bandwidth alone from LT will not be worth it. He is cheaper getting a second server which again a load balancing solution would make it easier. It doesn't have to be fancy.

    A simple method of even half the month on one server, half the month on the other. It also means in the case of a failure you can simply switch to the other. That's my take anyway.

    I agree that a load balancing solution isn't the easiest but if it's all about price then I can't see any other option.

    -Scott
    Server Management - AdminGeekZ.com
    Infrastructure Management, Web Application Performance, mySQL DBA. System Automation.
    WordPress/Magento Performance, Apache to Nginx Conversion, Varnish Implimentation, DDoS Protection, Custom Nginx Modules
    Check our wordpress varnish plugin. Contact us for quote: [email protected]

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    785
    Couple other things you could do.

    1: Reduce the number of GIF's shown per index page. Shrink it down to 10-15 per page or less. Having as many as you do now means you are potentially burning up resources serving the same files over and over if the browser is not caching correctly.

    2: Reduce the GIF's size that is shown on the index page to be a single frame of the GIF sequence instead of the full GIF.

    3: Reduce the number of adult porn / spam GIF's uploaded to your site. A couple of moderators on your site could easily clean through them all and likely get rid of allot content that is no use for you? This is not an adult only site after all is it? This is more of a 'cool' GIF type site so I do not see the need for so much adult type content. You are also killing your potential market by having NSFW images up there.

    4: Look at making a lighter weight template for the frame that shows the GIF indexes and actual files being played. Make sure you use as much text as possible and fewer images since that page is hit the most.

    5: Imagine you have no more money and you need to solve this problem. I see clients run into similar issues all the time and they find solutions to make their current configurations do what they need instead of throwing more resources ($$$$) at it as a solution. One thing that can be said about having no $$$ it makes you be more innovative.

    Thanks,

    Jeremy

    EDIT: For #3 look at making your default view 'Hide Nudity' instead of having it only as the option on your sites upper right nav.
    Last edited by Cirrostratus; 12-07-2006 at 04:59 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •