How to work out network connection?

i am currently in need of a new server, im relatively new to this but what i need is a server for file storage,

i already have a VPS managed account that works really nicely for the high database load and things but it doesent have very much bandwidth

i am looking for a lightweight server, with relatively low specs that has high bandwidth vs good upload speeds (eg, not 100mbps shared between 80 servers)

how do i know how the network connections are shared on different hosts? does anyone have any packaged they recomend?

thanks in advance

ps, money isnt a massive isue but i dont want it to be massively expensive, also i dont need UNLIMITED bandwidth, im more woried about the upload speeds i get at any one time.

How much bandwidth do you need approximately?
    With more than 2000GB transfer monthly you may go will UNMETERED server.

i have almost no idea how much more it would cost to go unmetered, i currently use about 1TB per month which is spread over 3 servers currently (these are realllllly low end) but i expect this figure to go up.

the reason i need to change is because at peak times (if a new file comes out that lots of people want) the servers just cant cope (there capped at 2GB up each)

so if going from 3 servers down 1 one unmetered server is cheaper then yes, but as i said, i dont quite understand how the ammount of space on the line is alocated? this is what im having trouble with.

say for instance i went with :

AMD Sempron 2400

512MB RAM

80GB HDD 7200 RPM

100Mbit port

Bandwidth: 10 Mbps Unmetered
    Memory: 1GB PC2100 DDR
    Hard Drive: 160GB 7200 RPM
    IP Addresses: 6 IP Addresses

how much upload can i expect to get?

(note i just plucked this host out of google i have no idea about how good it is or anything :p )
    Last edited by iamacup; 12-04-2006 at 07:34 PM.

In that case,you need servers at 100Mbps port with LOW network usage.

any recomendations?