Question Questions on Buying a server

Note to Mods: You may move this if its in the wrong forum...

In the near future, I'm most likely going to purchasing a basic server (not a high-end server or anything like that) for home use. Does anyone know of a good place where I could buy a server besides ebay? I'm wanting to learn a little about servers and the best way I learn is "hands-on". Many of you might think I'm nuts, but it will give me somthing to do... Also besides a Cobalt RaQ, what are a good server for learning purposes (note I have zero experience with any *nix platforms and would like to have something that comes with a restore disk). I'll be colocating it in my room, so if I happen to totally screw something up, I wont need to call anyone at a datacenter. If I can get pretty good at administering the server, I'll likely colocate it at a data center.

Basic summary: What is a good newbie server for learning purposes? I would like to get a server pre-built (yup, *gasp* prebuilt) though I do have some experience with building desktops. I would prefer a rackmount (I dont have any room for a tower).

Does anyone think a RaQ 3 or 4 would be ok for home learning purposes? I'll prolly expect to spend between 900 to 1500 for a good server for learning, even if I buy from the manufacturer.

Either way, once I can get the funds, I will buy a server for learning purposes so you cant scare me away now . If anyone has some recommendations for servers or places to buy them let me know.

Thanks for any comments or suggestions.
    Glioblastoma Multiforme (GBM) Brain Cancer Awareness. May is Brain Cancer awareness month. Gray Matters!
    Incurable, 6-18 months prognosis, survivors longer than 3 years less than 1% chance.
    Don't like what I say? Ignore me.