Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,765

    Installing Rails on cPanel

    Hi, I've installed Rails on a cPanel server to test it and hopefully offer it as a service if there are no problems with it.

    I have installed it exactly as mentioned on the rubyonrails website:
    http://wiki.rubyonrails.com/rails/pa...nRailsOnCpanel

    Everything seems to have gone fine, but when I try to restart Apache I get the following error message:
    Code:
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd restart: configuration broken, ignoring restart
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd restart: (run 'apachectl configtest' for details)
    I ran apachectl configtest to see if there were any clues and got the following:
    Code:
    usage: /usr/sbin/httpd (start|stop|restart|fullstatus|status|graceful|configtest
    |help)
    
    start      - start httpd
    startssl   - start httpd with SSL enabled
    stop       - stop httpd
    restart    - restart httpd if running by sending a SIGHUP or start if
                 not running
    fullstatus - dump a full status screen; requires lynx and mod_status enabled
    status     - dump a short status screen; requires lynx and mod_status enabled
    graceful   - do a graceful restart by sending a SIGUSR1 or start if not running
    configtest - do a configuration syntax test
    help       - this screen
    Any help is greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    11,868
    Hi!
    run

    service httpd configtest

    And paste the result here
    Shared Web Hosting - Reseller Hosting - Semi-Dedicated Servers - SolusVM/XEN VPS
    LiteSpeed Powered - R1Soft Continuous Data Protection - 24/7 Chat/Email/Helpdesk Support
    Cpanel/WHM - Softaculous - R1soft Backup - Litespeed - Cloudlinux -Site Builder- SSH support - Account Migration
    DowntownHost LLC - In Business since 2001- West/Center/East USA - Netherlands - Singapore

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,765
    Thanks Jedito,

    Code:
    [Sat Dec  2 18:01:03 2006] [warn] module fastcgi_module is already loaded, skipp
    ing
    Syntax error on line 2060 of /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf:
    FastCgiIpcDir /tmp/fcgi_ipc: access for server (uid 99, gid 99) failed: write no
    t allowed

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    11,868
    That's the problem

    mkdir /tmp/fcgi_ipc
    chmod -R 777 /tmp/fcgi_ipc


    Restart apache and let me know if works.
    Shared Web Hosting - Reseller Hosting - Semi-Dedicated Servers - SolusVM/XEN VPS
    LiteSpeed Powered - R1Soft Continuous Data Protection - 24/7 Chat/Email/Helpdesk Support
    Cpanel/WHM - Softaculous - R1soft Backup - Litespeed - Cloudlinux -Site Builder- SSH support - Account Migration
    DowntownHost LLC - In Business since 2001- West/Center/East USA - Netherlands - Singapore

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,765
    Lovely all working. I was wrong in my assumption that 755 permissions would be ample.

    Thanks Jedito!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    11,868
    You're welcome
    Shared Web Hosting - Reseller Hosting - Semi-Dedicated Servers - SolusVM/XEN VPS
    LiteSpeed Powered - R1Soft Continuous Data Protection - 24/7 Chat/Email/Helpdesk Support
    Cpanel/WHM - Softaculous - R1soft Backup - Litespeed - Cloudlinux -Site Builder- SSH support - Account Migration
    DowntownHost LLC - In Business since 2001- West/Center/East USA - Netherlands - Singapore

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,765
    Sorry, it was working and now I have another problem. Apache has stopped itself (or so it would appear) and when I try to run service httpd restart I get the following:
    Code:
    [Sat Dec  2 18:31:46 2006] [warn] module fastcgi_module is already loaded, skipp
    ing
    Syntax error on line 2063 of /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf:
    FastCgiConfig: invalid value for -idle-timeout: "120<VirtualHost" must be a posi
    tive integer
    /etc/init.d/httpd restart: httpd could not be started

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    11,868
    Check on your httpd.conf for this

    Code:
    <IfModule mod_fastcgi.c>
        FastCgiIpcDir /tmp/fcgi_ipc/
        AddHandler fastcgi-script .fcgi
    </IfModule>
    And be sure that you're copy and pasting exactly the following line below

    Code:
    FastCgiConfig -maxClassProcesses 20 -maxProcesses 20 -minProcesses 1 -processSlack 1 -initial-env RAILS_ENV=production -idle-timeout 120
    This last should be all in one line.
    Shared Web Hosting - Reseller Hosting - Semi-Dedicated Servers - SolusVM/XEN VPS
    LiteSpeed Powered - R1Soft Continuous Data Protection - 24/7 Chat/Email/Helpdesk Support
    Cpanel/WHM - Softaculous - R1soft Backup - Litespeed - Cloudlinux -Site Builder- SSH support - Account Migration
    DowntownHost LLC - In Business since 2001- West/Center/East USA - Netherlands - Singapore

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,765
    Another great fix Jedito

    <3 Jedito

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •