Looking to start a stand alone forum website, hosted

I work for a medium sized hw technology company (2000+ employees, 10000+ account customers) and have been tasked with planning and starting a web forum for our customers separate from our own corporate website. Being someone is not in the IT service or department I am a complete newbie at looking into this. I work in the technology support side of our company and we are attempting to use an external forum to help push and get answers to customers. I have done some research but need to gauge some expert ideas on cost and best approaches. Here is what I woud like to do. Please poke holes and give your feedback, also guesses on cost:

1. Use a commercial based forum tool such Vbulletin or invision

2. Need web developer to handle vbulletin, CMS development and an added user and post rating system. No commercial tools support this that I can find. Preferably with Karma system for the users with top point gatherers getting public recognition on the site and private gifts from our company.

3. Need a host site and service provider - perhaps a web developer has a preferred host site. I imagine we will need managed hosting for server and tool maintenance. Our company involvement would only be for moderation of content. I am not sure if a host can also provide administrative support such as bad login, lock out, etc. We dont' want to dedicate someone within our company for these tasks - only to check over content and help forum drive itself.

Forum we develop should tolerate a couple thousand users minimum. File attachments in a several Meg range for zip file sharing. Also, we'd prefer if the development and server were in our time zone (PST) or bay area.

Definitely going for a dedicated server would be your best bet.

Vbulletin you'd have to purchase yourself at As for invision board, go to,3,4.