PHP experts - passing of variable in php file

Hi there,

I have a question for PHP experts on this board.

As most of you might have known, this action can be done with php:

Eg: Let's say I place this code on my index.php file and upload it to my server (public_html):

<?php echo "$nick"; ?>

And then if I type in the following URL:

http://www.mydomain.com/index.php?nick=123

The code on the page will be replaced by the value 123.

Now I have been doing these for many months successfully.

However, since the day I moved to a new server, this doesn't seem to work anymore. The code does not replace itself into anything.

Therefore my question now is:

Are there any part of my server's PHP values that are disabled which cause
    this action to stop working?

or

Is it simply because PHP has change the way it behaves that this action will not work anymore anywhere?

Thanks.

Replace $nick with $_GET['nick'] or a similar variable.

The php flag register_globals is turned off on your server for security reasons (this is a good thing, trust me). You can turn it on via a .htaccess file or in your VHost config.

Edit: obviously, inside quotes, it would be {$_GET['nick;']}

Thanks for your reply localhost127,

By the way I don't understand clearly what you mean.

Must I turn on the php flag register_global or can I just use the code
    that you gave me below in order to make it work? (even if the register
    global is turned off)

$_GET['nick']

Use the superglobal arrays $_GET[], $_POST[], etc, from now on. The way you were doing it poses a real security threat. Believe me, you do not want register_globals turned on. Just replace all of your variables to reflect the change.

$_GET[] is an array of all the values in the URL string. Take your example:
    ?nick=123
    PHP will assign the following variable:
    $_GET['nick'] = 123

If you use a form to POST the data, then use the $_POST[] array.