Using my own DNS with a leased VPS

I'm a web designer and I would like to use a vps to host my clients sites.

I want to host two sites on a single large VPS with an IP for *each* site.

The VPS I wan to use is leased from another hosting company and therefore I would have to point the clients domain names to this companies nameservers.

I would like to avoid this and use my own name server instead.

I have permission form my hosting company to resell their VPS but they will not help with the domain issue.

Is it possible (or even recommended) to setup my own DNS server and have the client point their domain address at my DNS server so that I don't have to reveal the name of my hosting company.

I'm a hosting begnner.

Thanks.

look into outsourced dns if you don't want to use the hosting company's nameservers.

http://www.dnsmadeeasy.com/

http://zoneedit.com/

Quote Originally Posted by cws_mm
    I have permission form my hosting company to resell their VPS but they will not help with the domain issue.
    Is this an unmanaged VPS without a control panel?

Is it possible (or even recommended) to setup my own DNS server and have the client point their domain address at my DNS server so that I don't have to reveal the name of my hosting company.
    Yes (possible and recommended). Mainly because if you use your own nameservers you can change supplier without changing the clients' dns settings.

I'm a hosting begnner.
    Have you thought about starting with a reseller account? This would have the advantage that everything is managed for you. You can still get a dedicated IP for each client and use your own nameservers (really the server's shared nameservers but using your own domain name).

HTH
    Chris

"Some problems are so complex that you have to be highly intelligent and well informed just to be undecided about them." - Laurence J. Peter

This is an unmanaged VPS but the host is smaller and does a lot for you if you ask.

There is Webmin control panel.