Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    72

    cPanel newbie - which dir do I put web files in?

    Yes, I realize that I shouldn't even be asking this question... but I have never used cPanel before.

    I have setup my account/domain name. Now I am using the File Manger to upload some files (I have not switched over the nameservers yet - otherwise I would use an FTP program). So, here is my question:

    Using the File Manager in cPanel, which folder do I want to put the web files in? I assume that it is the 'www' folder.. or is it the 'public_html' folder?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    West Michigan, USA
    Posts
    9,675
    You want to put them in the public_html folder.

    --Tina
    ||| 99.999% Uptime SLA!!!
    Plenty of space and bandwidth to fit your needs!
    www.AEIandYou.com - - (WP Friendly - Premium Reseller Hosting and Cheap Dedicated Servers)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    72
    thanks tina

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    West Michigan, USA
    Posts
    9,675
    Not a problem. Feel free to poke around our Knowledge Base for more cPanel information. No obligation to purchase anything at all. They're just your generic, run of the mill, cPanel FAQs.

    --Tina
    ||| 99.999% Uptime SLA!!!
    Plenty of space and bandwidth to fit your needs!
    www.AEIandYou.com - - (WP Friendly - Premium Reseller Hosting and Cheap Dedicated Servers)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    72
    since I am using the File Manager to upload files... Do I have to upload files one at a time (manually) or is there a way for me upload entire directories?

    thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    375
    With the file manager, there's the option to upload more than one file, however not simultaneously. And, if you were uploading anything bigger than the limit on the server...your SOL. If I were you, I'd go ahead and get a free ftp program, something like smart ftp, it will make things much easier, and faster for you
    -DPI
    Chicago's #1 Datacenter Technician

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    72
    I have an FTP program.. but I didn't think I would be able to upload the files via FTP until the nameservers are set. Is that correct?

    Or can I use the IP address and upload files via FTP that way? that would be MUCH easier than what I am doing right now

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    72
    a-HA! I was able to login using the IP address.. Don't know why I didn't try that in the first place! Thanks man.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    36
    You can upload your new files with an FTP program.
    Did you receive a welcome letter with instructions from your host company.

    State something like this

    4. FTP Instructions

    You can begin uploading your files immediately to:

    208.101.99.00


    Then set up your FTP like this


    in the Host name/Addess: 208.101.99.00
    Host Type : automatic
    users ID: test

    users name: test
    Micro Dynamic is your one stop shop for all of your internet marketing promotion needs. Micro Dynamic.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,354
    Nothing is better than Firefox's FireFTP
    ServerTag Technologies - Everything you need for hosting activity
    A Canadian company providing top notch site hosting, servers and colocation services

  11. #11
    ie has easy FTP service as well, but use a free FTP program (LeechFTP is good) and the IP address as you have done.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •