Thread: Colo Hosting

Colo Hosting

Hi all,

We've recently chosen a Voxeo 1U Fusion server to host our voice application. We're a UK-based company, but we need cheap VoIP rates as we'll be mostly making calls to the US.

After some investigation it looks like co-locating this server in the US is the most cost effective way of achieving this. We'll be making around 9000 calls a day, so low VOIP costs are of utmost importance. We've calculated that around 1Mbps bandwidth is what we'll require to support this.

Does anyone have a view on whether this infrastucture sounds feasible/reasonable? Also, can you recommend any good US based colo hosts? And any good/cheap VOIP providers?

Thanks very much - any help is much appreciated, I'm new to this game!

Dave

I can definately recommend Choopa.com, been with them for quite a while, no downtimes, support is pretty helpful, but they aren't the cheapest around.

I would highly recommend Host.net. They have a datacenter here in florida and after being there in person, it's an amazing center. Randy, the owner of the company is a great guy as well. Give them a call. Lenny is the head of sales, he is the best to deal with. They will give you some great rates. They also provide VOIP as well.

Matt
    Matthew Rosenblatt, and I do lots of things.
    Currently a Master Electrician on Broadway.
    My company, BurstAV, specializes in A/V Systems Design and integration.
    I also own ConcertCables. We build power/data cables for the entertainment industry.

i recommend razor servers

That kind of infrastructure is definitely possible. I would recommend to colocate with a provider who has got expertise in VoIP based stuff.
    Web Hosting Blog - An exclusive blog on Web Hosting Industry and hosting related topics.

matt has experience with VoIP we talked on the phone for over an hour about setting me an account

Moved to the Colo forum.

9000 calls a day on 1 Mbps? That doesn't sound right to me, what are your calculations?