Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    80

    Softlayer outage?

    I can't seem to get to http://softlayer.com much less my server there.
    Anyone know what's going on?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,627
    Quote Originally Posted by bigscanner
    I can't seem to get to http://softlayer.com much less my server there.
    Anyone know what's going on?

    you use comcast, do a traceroute... note you are getting routed to mclean va and then the network blows up.


    Call comcast

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    80

    THanks

    Thanks. Has this already been reported?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kirkland, WA
    Posts
    4,448
    We're seeing this briefly with a few of our clients too - anyone able to obtain traceroutes yet?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Top Secret
    Posts
    11,686
    This isn't a "softlayer" problem, softlayer has been up from all areas of the world for me for quite some time.

    When submitting stuff like this, it's always best to submit a traceroute.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Huh... where am I again?
    Posts
    974
    This is indeed a comcast issue and has been going on for at least a week. It'll go out for an hour if not more for this route.

    Here is a traceroute from me to my SL server :

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.5.1
    2 8 ms 8 ms 7 ms 73.14.224.1
    3 8 ms 8 ms 7 ms ge-2-1-ur01.b1kennesaw.ga.atlanta.comcast.net [68.86.107.233]
    4 16 ms 7 ms 7 ms te-9-4-ur01.b2marietta.ga.atlanta.comcast.net [68.86.106.233]
    5 8 ms 11 ms 11 ms te-9-2-ur01.b3marietta.ga.atlanta.comcast.net [68.86.106.229]
    6 9 ms 9 ms 10 ms te-9-4-ur02.b0atlanta.ga.atlanta.comcast.net [68.86.106.125]
    7 11 ms 9 ms 7 ms te-9-4-ur01.b0atlanta.ga.atlanta.comcast.net [68.86.106.13]
    8 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms te-9-2-ar01.b0atlanta.ga.atlanta.comcast.net [68.86.106.9]
    9 8 ms 9 ms 9 ms 68.86.90.121
    10 32 ms 24 ms 24 ms te-0-0-0-0-cr01.mclean.va.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.84.70]
    11 * * * Request timed out.
    12 * * * Request timed out.

    And a friend did this from his server (Note the comcastsupport.com doesn't work for me when this happens.

    traceroute to comcastsupport.com (66.45.79.134), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
    <snipped>
    3 72.249.0.9 (72.249.0.9) 0.853 ms 0.581 ms 0.463 ms
    4 206.123.64.33 (206.123.64.33) 0.522 ms 0.392 ms 0.423 ms
    5 border4.g3-2.colo4dallas-3.ext1.dal.pnap.net (216.52.189.9) 0.896 ms 1.052 ms 0.938 ms
    6 core2.tge5-2-bbnet2.ext1.dal.pnap.net (216.52.191.97) 1.026 ms 1.283 ms 0.960 ms
    7 unknown.Level3.net (209.246.152.245) 1.667 ms 2.039 ms -174.635 ms
    8 ae-2-52.bbr2.Dallas1.Level3.net (4.68.122.33) 8.296 ms ae-2-54.bbr2.Dallas1.Level3.net (4.68.122.97) 1.702 ms 2.009 ms
    9 so-3-0-0.mp2.Philadelphia1.Level3.net (64.159.0.142) 38.078 ms so-1-0-0.mp1.Philadelphia1.Level3.net (209.247.8.69) 37.415 ms 37.156 ms
    10 so-10-0.hsa1.Philadelphia1.Level3.net (64.159.0.146) 37.215 ms so-11-0.hsa1.Philadelphia1.Level3.net (64.159.0.154) 37.103 ms 37.375 ms
    11 SUNGARD-NET.hsa1.Philadelphia1.Level3.net (63.209.178.190) 37.315 ms 96.231 ms 49.001 ms
    12 phlpr10-ge-0-1-0-0.sgns.net (216.83.181.49) 37.421 ms 37.652 ms 37.335 ms
    13 64.238.199.194 (64.238.199.194) 37.560 ms 37.536 ms 37.466 ms
    14 phlir3-vl-2.sgns.net (216.183.102.43) 37.642 ms 37.461 ms 37.388 ms
    15 69.48.228.4 (69.48.228.4) 37.895 ms 38.215 ms 39.134 ms
    16 * * *

    I hope someone gives comcast a good cluebatting soon.

    EDIT: The above traceroutes were from this afternoon.
    Last edited by steven99; 11-27-2006 at 08:29 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    80
    I reported this issue to Comcast. Keep your fingers crossed folks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    80
    Reported it *again* tonight because the McLean, VA spot is breaking down *again*

    10 36 ms 49 ms 30 ms te-0-0-0-0-cr01.mclean.va.ibone.comcast.net [68.
    86.84.70]
    11 * * * Request timed out.
    12 * * * Request timed out.
    13 * * * Request timed out.
    14 * * * Request timed out.

    I encourage anyone with Comcast service to call and complain with their own traceroute of course. Maybe it they get 1000 calls about this they will do something about it.

    Of course - the last tech I talked to said they would "send someone to my house to check out my connection" AAAAARGH!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Huh... where am I again?
    Posts
    974
    Quote Originally Posted by bigscanner
    Of course - the last tech I talked to said they would "send someone to my house to check out my connection" AAAAARGH!
    Call the NOC straight up and bypass the level 1s.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    80

    Number?

    How can I get that phone number Steven? I asked the tech support guys at Comcast and they said they would "escalate" the ticket.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Huh... where am I again?
    Posts
    974
    Quote Originally Posted by bigscanner
    How can I get that phone number Steven? I asked the tech support guys at Comcast and they said they would "escalate" the ticket.
    I've PMed you the number. Don't want to show it public so they don't go changing it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •