Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: DVI question..

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    570

    DVI question..

    My Dell Monitor apparently is a DVI-D connection. It's missing the four extra pins to the right and has the slit in the middle. My ATI AIW X1900 Is a DVI-I, WITH the four extra pins.

    Do they make a DVI-D to DVI-I connection? I put the term in, and all I seem to get is DVI-i - DVI-i connections.
    Check out Twelveoclock.net. And please check out our forums for fun Animation/Technology talk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,177
    I suppose you came across this in your search: http://www.asisupport.com/ts_asus_dvi-i_to_dvi-d.htm. I can't seem to find anything that indicates such an adapter could exist. I tried Google, Froogle, and a couple other sites. Nothing so far, but I'll look again tomorrow
    If you have to operate your company behind the scenes or under a fake name, maybe it's time to leave the industry and start something fresh.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    958
    Have you tried connecting your DVI cable from the gfx card to the monitor? Many times the extra pins ( or lack of ) are dead pins that carry useless information so they are not used. But I'm no DVI expert
    Kdoubt.net - Gameing discussion, arcade, all around good fun

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,177
    Whoa, Kdoubt gave me an idea. Why not just use a normal 6' DVI-D cable? From the link I gave that should work without a converter of any kind. Probably why they don't make 'em.
    If you have to operate your company behind the scenes or under a fake name, maybe it's time to leave the industry and start something fresh.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    570
    I could give it a shot. But, I ALSO found an I-D converter on Amazon. All it is is a Dongle with the two different connections. Dunno if it works, however, since there are no reviews.
    Check out Twelveoclock.net. And please check out our forums for fun Animation/Technology talk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,265
    Im not sure that I completely understand your situation. I understand that some of the pins are missing on the monitor cable. Did you happen to break them off or did the cable come that way. Also have u tried, as suggested above, to plug it in anyhow and see if there is a error of any sort for not having those pins.

    I kinda doubt that dell would ship or monitor with a faulty cable. If you could also include the model of monitor theat may also help us find a answer to this issue.

    Lane

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •